Add to a search
- brand name,
- product type,
- company name,
- SIC (Standard Industry Classifications) codes (see Industry information for codes)
Use a company and industry database.
Which Library databases have product information? Where do I start? [pdf, 48 KB]
Look for the following columns: Product information, Brands/trade names, Market segments - by product
- Business Source Complete: limit to Product Review
- Proquest Central: limit to Product
- Computers & Applied Sciences Complete: limit to Reviews & Products (e.g. search Yosemite, & limit to MAC in Reviews & Products)
- Business databases: limit results to Magazines or Trade publications
- Non-business databases: enter the product type, then limit results by business subjects e.g. "Business & Economics"
Choice of database
Depending on the product, search in a non-business database.
- Engineering/materials products try: Materials Research Database (or individual databases: Ceramic Abstracts, Aluminium Industry Abstracts, Copper Technical Reference Library, Materials Business File, Metadex)
- Health/Pharmacy products try: Access Medicine, Nursing Consult
- Informatics products try: Computer & Applied Sciences Complete
- Sports products try: SportDiscus
- Find Industry information. You may need to apply industry information to your product. Example: find information about toothpaste in Personal Care or Personal and Household Products. Some industry data includes named products or product types (e.g. cheddar, hard, mould, fresh cheeses, etc)
- Use primary sources. Interviews, surveys, product assessment. Example:
contact wholesalers for cost per metre