Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

Finding resources: Databases

What is a database?

Designed for academic institutions, databases are a leading resource for scholarly research.

Databases:

  • support academic study by providing journals, eBooks, newspapers, reports and much more
  • can be subject specific or multidisciplinary
  • provide 'Google-like' search interfaces
  • are regularly updated with current knowledge
  • offer access to information not available on the web

Databases vs Google

Databases Google
Scholarly, university focus Useful results can be hidden
Target journal articles Everything and anything!
Better results in less pages Results often return many pages
Full-text scholarly articles May need to pay for scholarly articles
Many filters to refine your search Fewer filters available to limit results

Which database should I use?

We've taken the hard work out of choosing a database by providing curated lists of relevant databases by faculty.

Finding full-text articles

To find a journal article you first need to know the article title.

From the Library homepage, type the article title into SEARCH

SEARCH gives you access to many source types, including academic journals, books, news and reviews.

For journal articles, look for the PDF Full Text and EPUB Full Text links

Once you authenticate with EZProxy, you should have access to your full-text article.

If you are still unable to access the article, try our ArticleReach or Document Delivery services.