Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

A-Z Databases - containing Journals, journal articles and eBooks: HELP

Find databases by title alphabetically, search or browse for a single journal in the Journal A-Z list, or see recommended for your School (right hand side)

Accessing databases & e-resources

Students - use your UOW SOLS username and password to login to databases.

Staff - use your UOW username and password to login to databases.

Contact IMTS for information about user account management.

Journal Passwords

You will need an additional Username and Password to access the following resources.

  • Art and Australia
  • Environmental Law Reporter
  • Food Technology
  • Law Institute Journal
  • Law Society Journal
  • Scholastic Education Plus
  • Soils and Foundations

Browsers and settings

The Library recommends the following for ensuring ease of access to databases and ebooks:

  • Browsers - The latest versions of Chrome, Firefox and Internet Explorer are recommended.
  • Cookies enabled
  • Popup blockers disabled
  • Security - Do not set to high, as this will affect access

If you are still having access issues, check any ad-blocking browser add-ons are not affecting the database.

Searching help

Truncation: A symbol at the end of a word to retrieve all variations. For example diet* searches for diet, diets, dietary and dietitian.

The most commonly used truncation symbol is * (asterisk).

Phrase searching: When a phrase is enclosed by double quotation marks, the exact phrase is searched e.g. project integration management.

Proximity searching: Allows you to specify where your search terms will appear in relation to each other. The closer your search terms appear to each other, the closer the relationship of those terms.

The proximity command varies with each database, examples include:

  • pain w/10 morphine will search for the words pain and morphine within "10" words of each other
  • project N/5 success will search for the words project and success within "5" words of each other
  • tax near reform will search for the words tax and reform close to each other - usually within the same sentence
  • animal adj5 behaviour will search for the words animal and behaviour within "5" words of each other

About EZproxy

Access to electronic resources, such as databases, electronic journals and electronic books subscribed to by the University of Wollongong is restricted to use by Wollongong students and staff.

Authentication

Most databases rely on IP authentication to limit access to subscribers only. IP ranges for computers on University campuses are registered with electronic resources vendors. Authorisation for remote users is achieved using software called EZproxy. This software serves as an on-campus intermediary and provides a valid IP address. EZproxy authenticates users as Wollongong University students, or staff by requiring that they login.

Library Resources and Internet Quota

The Library believes that providing resources in electronic format rather than print should not have an impact on student Internet quota. Traffic going through EZproxy has been excluded from the quota. This is the main reason for linking all users through EZproxy rather than just those who are off campus.

Libguides, including the Library database pages are not located on campus and are not quota free but they are not internet intensive pages and will not greatly impact quotas. The links beyond them to subscribed resources are quota free.

Alerts and RSS Feeds

  Use RSS feeds to quickly review the latest published articles in your field of research.

  Functionality to set up email alerts and RSS feeds is available in most scholarly databases.