Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

History of Australian Education, Health & Welfare: Overviews & Facts

What's on this page?

Finding historical overviews, definitions & facts using:

1. Authoritative web sites

2. Dictionaries & encyclopedias

1. Authoritative Web Sites

Need background information on particular events, issues, people or eras?

Try browsing authoritative web sites:

Check the web sites of government departments and education, health and welfare organisations for authoritative background information and historical overviews. Examples of useful sites include:

Finding other web sites:

Limit your search to specific types of web sites such as Australian government organisations (.gov.au), educational institutions (.edu.au) and non-profit or research based organisations (.org.au). eg.

  1. Go to Google Advanced search
  2. Type in your keywords or phrases in the relevant Search boxes eg. "School of the Air"
  3. Type in the Search within Site/Domain box the url .gov.au for Australian government sites or .edu.au for Australian educational sites
  4. Click on the Advanced Search button.

Remember! It's important to critically evaluate all information/sites you find on the Web.

2. Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

On the web:

Many encyclopedias, subject dictionaries and handbooks are available as ebooks (fulltext) via UOW Library's SEARCH or the Classic Catalogue. Useful titles include:

In the Library:

Print dictionaries, encyclopedias and other reference handbooks are interfiled with books for loan on Level 1 and are identified by a 'Not for Loan' sticker on the spine. Examples include:

  • The Australian Encyclopaedia (8 volumes) at 919.4/51
  • Australians: An Historical Library (12 volumes covering different aspects of Australian history) 994/150
  • Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society (3 volumes) 305.2303/1

Finding other encyclopedias:

Using SEARCH or the Classic Catalogue type in for example: educat* AND (encyclopedia* OR dictionar*)

A-Z databases |  A-Z journals |  Catalogue |  Learning Co-Op

Opening hours |  Printing, copying & scanning |  Services for students |  Subject readings

Borrowing information |  Borrowing from other libraries |  Frequently Asked Questions |  Give feedback