Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

History of Australian Education, Health & Welfare: Newspaper & Magazine Articles

1. To Find Older Newspaper & Magazine Articles

Try these databases below. Many older newspapers are not available online so for other search tips, check the Historical Newspapers guide.

2. To Find More Recent Newspaper Articles

Try these newspaper databases for recent articles from the Illawarra Mercury and Sydney Morning Herald etc:

2. I found a great reference but it's not fulltext. What do I do?

Some databases don't provide the fulltext of an item, only the citation and an abstract (summary) of its contents. This is especially common with older references. Check what type of publication it is (this should be mentioned in the database record) then:

If it's a journal/magazine/newspaper article:

Use the Title search in the Library's A-Z Journal List directory to look up the name of the journal the article is published in. eg. Australian Historical Studies. This will show if the Library holds that journal for the relevant year either fulltext in another database or in print (hard copy) in the Journals Collection (Level 2).

and

If it's a book chapter or conference paper:

Use the Title search in the Library Classic Catalogue or if that fails try the Keywords search option to look up the name of the book/conference the chapter/paper is published in. This will show if the Library holds it in hard copy.

A-Z databases |  A-Z journals |  Catalogue |  Learning Co-Op

Opening hours |  Printing, copying & scanning |  Services for students |  Subject readings

Borrowing information |  Borrowing from other libraries |  Frequently Asked Questions |  Give feedback