Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

History of Australian Education, Health & Welfare: Specific Professions

1. Education Department Annual Reports

Looking for education key developments and issues over particular years?

For overviews and summary statistics of what was going on in the Education Department at the time refer to the annual reports held in the Archives Collection.

  • Report of the Minister for Public Instruction (annual report) 1881-1957 call no. ARC 370.9944/3
  • Annual Report: Department of Education New South Wales 1957-1975 call no.  ARC 370.9944/3

For reports for the years post 1976 refer to the copies held within the NSW Parliamentary Papers series in the Library's Journals Collection.

2. Education Gazettes & Teachers Union Journals

Looking for what was told to or said amongst teachers at the time?

The following old education journals/gazettes are held in the Archives Collection. Some titles date back to the early 1900s. For access to these contact the Archivist:

  • NSW Department of Education Gazette (1907-1977) call no. ARC 370.9944/15
    A monthly government publication giving news/advice/instructions to public teachers. Note this has changed name over the years: Public Instruction Gazette (1907-1915) / The Education Gazette (1915-1970) / Inside Education (1970-1977)
  • Education: Journal of the NSW Public School Teachers Federation (1929-1993) call no. ARC 370.94405/2
    A teachers' union monthly publication giving news/advice to members of the NSW Teachers Federation/Union. 
  • Education News: Journal of the Commonwealth Department of Education (1948-1986) call no. ARC 370.5/2
    A bi-monthly government publication covering topics of interest to Australian educators.

3. Industrial Awards

Looking for historical pay rates or award conditions in specific professions?

If you can't find an award online then try the UOW Library's hardcopy holdings of:

  • NSW Industrial Gazette (1912-1994) (in Level 2 Compactus) at call no. C 331.05/3

The State Library of NSW also has a useful NSW Industrial Awards research guide for finding old NSW awards

4. Education Curriculum/Syllabus Documents

Looking for changes in education syllabus over the years?

Schooling Australia Project - curriculum history of English teaching, teacher education and public schooling from Federation to World War II. Includes fulltext primary source documents

Syllabus and support material - links to more recent information from the Education Faculty Librarian's guide

Curriculum material in the Doris Chadwick archival collection (UOW Archives D233) - contact the Archivist for more details

5. Catalogue Search Tips - Professional/Occupation Specific Journals

Try browsing the shelves in the bound Journals Collection (Level 2) between S 370 - S 379. This is where many older education journals are held.

To display lists of other journal titles in the Library Classic Catalogue click on the following Subject phrase searches:

A-Z databases |  A-Z journals |  Catalogue |  Learning Co-Op

Opening hours |  Printing, copying & scanning |  Services for students |  Subject readings

Borrowing information |  Borrowing from other libraries |  Frequently Asked Questions |  Give feedback