Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

Historical Newspapers: Finding Newspaper Articles on a Topic

How do I find really old newspapers on a topic?

Search the Library's full-text newspaper databases

The Library subscribes to several full-text digital archive newspaper databases. These give you the complete newspaper article, including any pictorial content. In addition there are several databases which index older newspapers and weekly magazines, providing citations (references) to help you identify individual articles.

Can't find what you're looking for in the above databases?

Search the Library's other newspaper related databases

There are several useful additional databases which index older newspapers and weekly magazines, providing citations (references) to help you identify individual articles.

Other indexing sources for old newspapers

If none of the Library's databases cover the older newspapers or years you are looking for, try searching the print (hard copy and/or microform) indexes. Use these to locate dates and page numbers for specific articles, then check the Library Catalogue to see if the relevant newspapers are held in the library.

Note: for indexes specific to individual newspapers also check the entries in the List of Main Historical Newspaper Holdings in this guide.

Title Date Range Format Call Number
APAIS – indexes feature articles in major Australian newspapers 1955-78 Hard copy volumes C016.99406/1 (Level 2 Compactus)
NSW Parliamentary Library Newspaper Index- indexes articles on government and pubilc affairs 1910-1975 Microfiche ARC 079.944016/1

But it's not full-text!

It's not full-text! – what do I do?

Use the indexing databases to locate dates and page numbers for specific articles from individual newspapers, then check the A-Z Journal List to see if those newspapers are held in the UOW Library on microfilm or in hard copy.

UOW Library  |  Subject readings  |  A-Z journals  |  A-Z databases  |  Copyright  |  Research Online

Borrowing information | Connect to wireless | Print, copy & scan

Ask us  |  Tell us