Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

Historical Newspapers: Finding Specific Newspapers

List of Commonly Asked for Newspaper Titles

Listed below are details for the most commonly asked for older newspapers and weekly magazines which the UOW Library has access to in either hard copy, microform or full-text online format.

On the Web:

In the Library:

  • 079.945/3 The Argus on microfilm 1874-81 and 1940-49
  • ARC 079.945/1 Index to The Argus in hard copy/on microfiche 1846-60

On the Web:

In the Library:

  • 079.944/4 hard copy current 3 months
  • 079.944/4 microfilm 1980+
  • Selectively indexed in APAIS print index (C 016.88406/1 Level 2 compactus)

On the Web:

In the Library:

On the Web:

In the Library:

  • 052/1 The Bulletin on microfilm 1889-1973
  • S 052/1 The Bulletin in hard copy 1974-2008 (ceased publication)

On the Web:

In the Library:

  • UOW does not receive hard copy

On the Web:

In the Library:

  • UOW Library does not receive hard copy
  • 079.944/21 microfilm 1879-1942
  • 079.944016/1 selectively indexed on NSW Parliamentary Library Newspaper Index 1910- 1975 (microfiche)

Note: Between 1950-55 the Illawarra Mercury was called the Illawarra Daily Mercury

On the Web:

In the Library:

In the Library:

  • 079.944/35 Newcastle Morning Herald on microfilm 1890-1951
  • 079.94405/2 Index to the Newcastle Morning Herald in hard copy 1861-1983

On the Web:

In the Library:

On the Web:

In the Library:

  • 079.94405/4 Wollongong Argus on microfilm 1878-96
  • 079.94405/3 South Coast Times and Wollongong Argus on microfilm 1901-68
  • Hard copy held in Archives Collection (restricted access due to fragile condition of volumes)
  • Wollongong City Library also holds a complete back set on microfilm

In the Library:

  • 079.944/24 microfilm 1860-1915
  • 079.944/3 index to the SMH and Sydney Mail (microfilm for 1842-45 and 1904-18, hard copy for 1927-61, microfiche for 1961-87)*
  • Selectively indexed in NSW Parliamentary Library Newspaper Index microfiche*

On the Web:

In the Library:

  • 079.944/3 hard copy current 3 months
  • 079.944/3 microfilm April 1831+
  • 079.944/3 index to the SMH (microfilm for 1842-45 and 1904-18, hard copy for 1927-61, microfiche for 1961-87)*
  • Selectively indexed in APAIS print index (C 016.099406/1 Level 2 Compactus)
  • Selectively indexed in NSW Parliamentary Library Newspaper Index microfiche*

On the Web:

In the Library:

  • ARC 079.4105/1 Palmer's index to The Times in hard copy 1865-1905 and on microfilm 1906-41 *

*Provides useful subject based listings to help narrow large search results within the full-text digital archive database

Loading

Where are they located?

Newspapers – both hard copy and microfilm copies are held in the Media Collection (Ground Floor).

Magazines – hard copy are held in the Journals Collection (Level 2). These items have an S location prefix. Microfilm copies are held in the Media Collection (Ground Floor).

How do I find other specific newspaper titles?

Search the Library's A-Z Journal List using a title search on the name of the newspaper.

If it is held this will show the format (ie. full-text online and/or hardcopy and/or microform), location and call number, and the date range held.

UOW Library  |  Subject readings  |  A-Z journals  |  A-Z databases  |  Copyright  |  Research Online

Borrowing information | Connect to wireless | Print, copy & scan

Ask us  |  Tell us