Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

Historical Newspapers: Frequently Asked Questions

1. Does the library hold really old newspapers?

We do. We also hold many older/historical Australian newspapers, as well as several overseas newspapers in microfilm format. These are kept in microfilm cabinets in on the first floor.

You can view and print/save articles from these using the microfilm reader/printers in the Print/Copy Room on the ground floor.

A small number of hard copy old newspapers and weekly magazines are also held in the Archives Collection. These are very fragile due to their age. Make an appointment with UOW Archives if you want to view these items.

There are also many historical newspapers available online.

2. How do I find a specific newspaper?

Search the Library's A-Z Journal List using a title search on the name of the newspaper. For example Illawarra Mercury.

If it is held, this will show the format (full-text online/hardcopy and or/microform), the access method, the location and call number, and the date range held.

Alternatively check theid list of popular older newspaper titles.

3. Where are they located in the Library?

Newspapers, in both hard copy and microfilm copies are held in the Media Collection (Ground Floor).

Magazines in hard copy are held in the Journals Collection (Level 2). Microfilm copies are held in the Media Collection (Ground Floor).

4. What if I don't know the names of individual newspapers?

If you're just looking for any newspaper articles on a particular topic, see the tips provided elsewhere in this guide.

If you're looking to identify the names of actual newspapers:

Search the Library Catalogue

For newspapers held at UOW try searching the Library Catalogue using a Keyword search on the word newspaper* and the name of a particular region.

For example: keyword> newspaper* and sydney

Consult directory guides

For title lists of older Australian, state and local newspapers check:

Title Call Number
Newspapers in Australian Libraries: A Union List ARC 079.94016/1 (Archives)
Union List of Local Newspapers in NSW Public Libraries ARC 079.944/29 (Archives)
Nineteenth Century Australian Periodicals: An Annotated Bibliography V 011.34/3 (Rare Book Collection)
Checklist of Nineteenth Century Australian Periodicals C 015.94034/1 (Level 2 Compactus)

5. Where else can I access old newspapers?

Try other libraries:

Within the Illawarra

Search the catalogue of Wollongong City Library. The City Library holds a range of old Australian newspapers on microfilm, including several local and state newspapers not held by the UOW Library.

Outside the Illawarra

Search the catalogues of other libraries. For example, both the State Library of New South Wales and the National Library of Australia hold large collections of Australian and overseas newspapers. If you live within NSW you can join one or both these libraries as an individual member at no charge and have free remote access to their newspaper databases.

Digital Newspaper Archiving Projects

A small number of old newspaper archives are being digitised by public libraries and made available on their web sites for free. Several are listed here in this guide. For examples of other projects see:

UOW Library  |  Subject readings  |  A-Z journals  |  A-Z databases  |  Copyright  |  Research Online

Borrowing information | Connect to wireless | Print, copy & scan

Ask us  |  Tell us