Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

Newspapers & News Services: Frequently Asked Questions

How to find specific newspapers?

Search the Library's Catalogue

Search the Library Catalogue using a title search on the name of the newspaper eg. Sydney Morning Herald.

If it is held this will show:

  • for online newspapers – which database to access and the date range available
  • for hard copy/ microfilm newspapers – the format, location and call number, and the date range available

Tip: Looking for a specific overseas newspaper? In addition to the titles on Summon and the Library Catalogue, many more titles are available through the Factiva and Proquest databases (see this guide). Check the Browse Journals A-Z list.

Other access to newspapers?

Try other libraries:

Within the Illawarra

Search the catalogue of Wollongong City Library. It holds a range of Australian newspapers, including several local and state newspapers not held by the UOW Library, and also has newspaper databases (with free remote access for members).

Outside the Illawarra

Search the catalogues of other libraries. For example, both the State Library of New South Wales and the National Library of Australia hold large collections of Australian and overseas newspapers. If you live within NSW you can join one or both these libraries as an individual member at no charge and have free remote access to their newspaper databases.

Try newspaper websites

Browse or search news archives available on newspaper publishers' own web sites. Note: These sites are not quota exempt (unlike the Library databases) and so will use student internet quota.

Directories for locating specific newspapers:

Examples of Australian news publishers' archives:

  • Fairfax News Store Archive – search Illawarra Mercury, Sydney Morning Herald, the Age and other (non business) Fairfax publications. Date coverage varies.
  • Fairfax Syndication Image Archive – search digital images from Fairfax publications.
  • afr.com Archive – search Australian Financial Review and other Fairfax business publications. Date coverage varies.
  • Newstext.com.au Archive – search The Australian, Daily Telegraph and other News Corporation publications. Date coverage varies.

Tip: Recent articles are usually free. Access to the full-text of older articles is often available for a fee. Alternatively, just locate dates for specific articles, then check the Library Catalogue to see if the relevant newspapers are available in the Library.

Another source of news online are news services.

UOW Library  |  Subject readings  |  A-Z journals  |  A-Z databases  |  Copyright  |  Research Online

Borrowing information | Document Delivery | Connect to wireless | Print, copy & scan

Ask us  |  Tell us