Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

Newspapers & News Services: Finding Newspaper Articles on a Topic

Find newspaper articles on a topic

Try these newspaper databases first:

Other newspaper related databases

Newspaper databases come in different formats

Digital archive databases provide scanned reproductions of original newspaper pages (the full-text and any accompanying graphics).

Full-text databases provide the complete text of newspaper articles (but not accompanying graphics).

Index only databases provide citations (references) to newspaper articles. You can use these to identify the publication date and page number details for specific articles

How can I get the actual article?

Use a title search on the name of the newspaper in our A-Z Journals List and/or SEARCH. For example Illawarra Mercury.

If UOW has access it will show you:

  • for online newspapers – which database(s) to access and the date range available within that database
  • for hard copy/microfilm* newspapers – the relevant campus library, physical format, location, call number and date range held

*Microfilm copies of older newspapers held at UOW Wollongong campus are located in the Microfilm cabinets collection on Level 1. Use the nearby Microform reader workstation to view and save copies of articles from these reels. If you need help with using this equipment please ask library staff.

Also at the Wollongong campus, a small number of hardcopy old newspapers and weekly magazines are held in the Archives Collection. These are very fragile due to their age. You will need to check with the Archives staff if you would like to view any of these items.

UOW Library  |  Subject readings  |  A-Z journals  |  A-Z databases  |  Copyright  |  Research Online

Borrowing information | Document Delivery | Print, copy & scan

Ask Us  |  Tell Us