Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

Newspapers & news services: Finding Specific Newspapers

Finding specific newspapers

Here are some of our most frequently requested local, state and national newspapers and popular magazines.

We've listed our different online and hardcopy access options for current and/or historical coverage for each title.

The Age (Melbourne) is one of the major Australian metropolitan newspapers. It began publication in 1854. The paper also has a weekend supplement, The Age Magazine.

Availability
Related resources
  • Wollongong Campus Library holds January 1980 - December 2009 on microfilm at 079.945/4 (Level 1 Microfilm cabinets)
  • Older feature articles selectively indexed in the APAIS historical print index 1955-1978 held at 016.99406/1 (Level 2 Journal shelves)

The Argus (Melbourne) was a major early Australian newspaper. It began publication in 1846 and ended in 1957. Note: Between 1846-48 the paper was called The Melbourne Argus.

Availability

The Australian is one of the major Australian national newspapers. It began publication in 1964*. It has a weekend supplement, the Australian Magazine.

Availability
Related resources
  • Wollongong Campus Library holds January 1980 - April 2002 on microfilm at 079.944/4 (Level 1 Microfilm cabinets)
  • Older feature articles also selectively indexed in the APAIS historical print index 1955-1978 held at 016.99406/1 (Level 2 Journal shelves)

* Note: The current 'The Age' newspaper is sometimes confused with another much earlier Sydney colonial newspaper also called 'The Australian'.

Related resources

The Australian Financial Review is one of the major Australian national newspapers. It began publication in 1951. The paper also has a weekend supplement, The AFR Magazine.

Availability
Related resources
  • Wollongong Campus Library holds January 1984 - March 2016 on microfilm at 332.0994/14 (Level 1 Microfilm cabinets)
  • Older feature articles selectively indexed in the APAIS historical print index 1955-1978 held at 016.99406/1 (Level 2 Journal shelves)

The Australian Women's Weekly has been one of the major popular magazines to chronicle Australian society and culture over many decades. It began publication in 1933.

Availability
Related resources
  • Check with your closest public library. Many hold back issues of 'The Weekly' in hardcopy. Some, such as Wollongong City Library, also hold a complete backset of issues on microfilm.
  • Older feature articles selectively indexed in the APAIS historical print index 1955-1978 held at UOW Wollongong campus at S 016.99406/1 (Level 2)

The Bulletin (Sydney) was a major Australian politics and news magazine. It began publication in 1880 and ended in 2008. Note: From 1984 onwards the magazine's official title was The Bulletin with Newsweek.

Availability
Related resources
  • Wollongong campus holds The Bulletin from 1974-2008 in hardcopy at 052/1 (Level 2 Journal shelves)
  • And also holds an extensive backset 1889-1973 on microfilm at 052/1 (Level 1 Microfilm cabinets)

The Canberra Times began publication in 1926.

Availability

* Note: While most of Trove's digitised newspapers historic coverage end at 1954, The Canberra Times is an exception. It is freely available up until 1995.

The Daily Telegraph (Sydney) is a major daily tabloid newspaper. It began publication in 1879.

Availability
Related resources
  • Feature articles (on government and public affairs) selectively indexed in NSW Parliamentary Library Newspaper Index 1910-1975 held on microfiche at 079.944016/1 (Level 1 Microfilm cabinets)

The Illawarra Mercury began publication in 1856. Note: Between 1950-55 the Illawarra Mercury was called the Illawarra Daily Mercury.

Availability
Related resources
  • Wollongong Campus Library holds January 1954 - June 1997 on microfilm at 079.944/8 (Level 1 Microfilm cabinets)
  • Wollongong City Library holds a complete backset of all surviving issues on microfilm. Contact their Library for details.

The Koori Mail is a fortnightly national newspaper providing news and information on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. It began publication in 1991.

Availability
Related resources
  • Wollongong campus holds latest fortnightly issues in hardcopy (Ground Level)
  • Also holds January 2002 - December 2008 on microfilm at 305.89915/252 (Level 1 Microfilm cabinets)
  • Woolyungah Indigenous Centre at Wollongong campus also holds hardcopy issues

The New York Times is one of the major American newspapers.

Availability
Related resources

The South Coast Times and Wollongong Argus

Availability
Related resources
  • Wollongong campus holds Wollongong Argus 1878-1896 on microfilm at 079.94405/4 (Level 1 Microfilm cabinets)
  • And South Coast Times and Wollongong Argus on microfilm 1901-68 on microfilm at 079.94405/3 (Level 1 Microfilm cabinets)
  • Original hardcopy volumes held in Archives Collection (restricted access due to fragile condition of this material)
  • Wollongong City Library holds a complete backset on Microfilm

The Sun-Herald is the Sunday edition of the Sydney Morning Herald.

Availability
Related resources
  • Wollongong campus holds November 1999 - March 2016 on microfilm at 079.944/3A (Level 1 Microfilm cabinets)

The Sydney Morning Herald is one of the major Australian metropolitan newspapers. It began publication in 1831 as The Sydney Herald. It includes the weekly supplement Good Weekend magazine. It also publishes a separate Sunday edition (The Sun-Herald).

Availability
Related resources
  • Wollongong Campus Library holds March 2003 - March 2016 on microfilm at 079.944/3 (Level 1 Microfilm cabinets)
  • Indexes to the SMH (microfilm for 1842-45 and 1904-18, hardcopy for 1927-61, microfiche for 1961-87) held in the Archives Collection (Ground Level) - ask at Service Desk for access to these indexes
  • Feature articles also selectively indexed in the APAIS historical print index held at 016.99406/1 (Level 2 Journal shelves)

The Times (London) is one of the major British daily national newspapers.

Availability
Related resources
Loading ...

UOW Library  |  Subject readings  |  A-Z journals  |  A-Z databases  |  Copyright  |  Research Online

Borrowing information | Document Delivery | Print, copy & scan

Ask Us  |  Tell Us