Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

Statistics: Australian Statistics

Australian Bureau of Statistics

On the Web

The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) database contains full text ABS statistical publications and datasets from the 1990s+, as well as a growing range of older historical data.

The ABS Data by Region feature provides simple access to statistics from the ABS and other sources available for different geographical regions across Australia.

In the Library

The Library also holds a large hardcopy collection of older ABS material. Please contact Library staff for assistance with these additional resources.

Yearbooks are a good starting point for past Australian statistics (eg. population summaries).

On the Web

Past editions of the Year Book Australia from 1908 up until it ceased publication in 2012 are available from the Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) website. These give summaries of a wide range of Australian statistical information. Similar publications for the various Australian states and territories are also available.

In the Library

Recent Census Data

The Australian Bureau of Statistics: Census Data website contains data for the 2011, 2006 Census and 2001 Census, as well as selected data from the 1996 Census. Data from the most recent 2016 Census will be added progressively during 2017. Census data provides information on number of people in an area, their age, housing costs, average weekly incomes, industry of employment, religion etc.

Quick access to NSW Suburb level Census Data is available from the Quickstats website.

Older Census Data

The Australian Bureau of Statistics: Historical Census Data website contains selected Commonwealth census data from 1911- 2006.

The Australian Historical and Colonial Census Data Archive contains selected Colonial census reports from 1833-1901.

In addition, the UOW Library holds a wide range of data from earlier Australian census in CD ROM, print and/or microfiche format. If you can't find the data you need online then please contact Library staff for assistance with these additional hardcopy sources.

Loading

Additional datasets for UOW researchers

The University of Wollongong has agreements in place for researchers to apply for access to various specialised datasets and microdata services including:

  • TableBuilder - Detailed Census data and other Australian Bureau of Statistics survey datasets
  • ASSDA - Australian Social Science Data Archive from the Australian Consortium for Social and Political Research
  • CURFs - Confidentialised Unit Record Files (CURFs) contain the most detailed level data from key Australian Bureau of Statistics social and labour household surveys
  • HILDA dataset - Household, Income and Labour Dynamics in Australia (HILDA) Survey
  • LSAC dataset - Growing Up in Australia: The Longitudinal Study of Australian Children (LSAC)

UOW Library  |  Subject readings  |  A-Z journals  |  A-Z databases  |  Copyright  |  Research Online

Borrowing information | Document Delivery | Connect to wireless | Print, copy & scan

Ask us  |  Tell us