Guides: Indigenous Studies: Books & Websites

Websites

ABC Online Indigenous
The Closing the Gap Clearing House from the Australian government's Australian Institute of Health and Welfare. "...established in mid 2009. It is an online source of research and information on what works to close the gap on Indigenous disadvantage"
A History of the Aboriginal People of the Illawarra from the NSW Dept of Environment, Climate Change and Water. Includes access to download the book and 'Early Contact Map'
Indigenous Affairs Resources - contains government information resources, directories, statistics, issues. (Department of the Parliamentary Library)
Indigenous Australians - Hosted by the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, this site contains a range of publications and assorted material
Indigenous Australians - State Library of New South Wales Collection
Australian Policy Online - Indigenous - Australian social, economic, cultural and political research. Maintained by the Institute of Social Research at Swinburne University of Technology
Black Book Directory - a listing of indigenous people and organisations involved in the arts, media and cultural industries
Woolyungah Indigenous Centre

AIATSIS - Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies.
Jinta DesertArt Aboriginal Art Gallery -Art Wholesaler, Retailer and Consultants specializing in Aboriginal Art from the Central Desert of Australia. This site includes an iconography page and artist's biographies.
Message Stick - part of ABC Indigenous Online and acts as a gateway to indigenous content on ABC TV and Radio (access video through TVNews)

Aboriginal Art and Culture Centre, Alice Springs - Hosted by Aboriginal artists
Australian Screen - Indigenous Content - excerpts from selected Australian film and television including a synopsis and curator's notes

Aboriginal History in the early Illawarra - Wollongong City Library Land Rights and Native Title

Australians for Native Title and Reconciliation Native title and reconciliation issues
Mabo v Queensland No. 2 1992 (Cth) This case inserted the legal doctrine of native title into Australian law
National Native Title Tribunal Australian Commonwealth Government agency
Native Title Research Unit Current native title issues (Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies)

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice (part of Australian Human Rights & Equal Opportunity Commission) Indigenous human rights issues such as stolen children and deaths in custody
AustLII Indigenous Law Resources Government reports and publications including the 'Bringing Them Home' report and 'Royal Commission into Aboriginal Deaths in Custody'
Reconciliation Australia An independent, not-for-profit body established in January 2001 to provide a continuing national focus for reconciliation. This site includes a wide range of publications, speeches and media releases as well as an archive of documents for the Council for Aboriginal Reconciliation 1991-2000

AIATSIS - Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies
Australian Human Rights & Equal Opportunity Commission - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice
National Native Title Tribunal

How do you know if the information you find on the web is accurate and reliable?

When you find something relevant to your research on the web, ask yourself:

keyword AND dictionar**
e.g. aboriginal AND dictionar**

keyword AND encyclopedia**
e.g. aboriginal AND encycloped**

keyword AND handbook**
e.g. aboriginal AND handbook**