Services for alumni & guests

Alumni members can access selected online databases for personal research and educational use.

You will be prompted for a username and password when accessing alumni resources.

Access these databases from UOW Wollongong and *selected campus libraries.

*Speak to your local UOW Campus Library for more information about access.

Business

• ABI/INFORM Complete
  Literature in business, management, including accounting, taxation, banking, labour relations, marketing & advertising, human resources. International. Index. Dates vary.
  This database is the most comprehensive ABI/INFORM database, comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Archive, featuring over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data.
  Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

• Business Source Complete
  Business information from more than 9,000 full-text journals and ebooks. Key features include case studies, SWOT analyses, company & industry profiles, market research reports and product reviews.
  Tip: In Search Options select Limit your results - Full Text.

• Emerald Insight
  Management, operations, library, and related fields. International. Full-text from vol 1+.

Education

• ERIC (Ebsco)
  Education and related fields, including research documents, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Compiled by the Education Resources Information Center.
  Tip: In Search Options select Limit your results - Full Text.

• ProQuest Central
  Coverage in a broad range of subject areas. Includes several databases which may be searched either individually or in combinations. International. Full-text. Dates vary.

Health

• American Physiological Society
  American Physiological Society journals. Full-text. Current content and archives.

• Health Business Elite
  Health care administration and other non-clinical aspects of health care institution management. Full-text International. Dates vary.
  Tip: In Search Options select Limit your results - Full Text.

• Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
  Medicine and related disciplines. Full-text. International. Dates vary.
  Tip: In Search Options select Limit your results - Full Text.

• MEDLINE with Full Text
  Medicine and related disciplines. Includes full-text for over 1470 journals indexed in Medline.
  Tip: In Search Options select Limit your results - Full Text

• Psychiatry Online
  American Psychiatric Association (APA) journals and reference works, including the DSM V Library. Full-text. International 1844+.

• PubMeb
  PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
  Citations may include links to full-text content from both PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Humanities & Social Sciences

• Cambridge Journals Online
  Sciences, social sciences, economics and humanities. International. Full-text. Dates vary.
  Tip: Select the 'Search open access articles only' or the 'Journal Content I have access to' option.

• China and the Modern World: Missionary, Sinology, and Literary Periodicals, 1817-1949
  A collection of 17 English-language periodicals published in or about China during a period of over 130 years, from 1817 until the founding of the People's Republic of China in 1949.
  Access is enabled for 1 concurrent user.

• Duke University Press Journals Online
  Humanities and social sciences journals. Full-text. International. Dates mainly 2000+.

• Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital Archive)
  Manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of "Empire" and its theories, practices and consequences.
  The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.

• First World War: Propaganda and Recruitment (Adam Matthew Digital Archive)
  A wide variety of primary sources on recruitment, training, morale, public opinion, censorship and the development of different forms of propaganda during the First World War.
  Documents include leaflets, postcards and photographs.
  Case studies examine subjects such as aerial propaganda, anti-war protests and the training of recruits.

• JSTOR
  Archive collection of journals covering a broad range of subject areas, with strengths in humanities, economics, and area studies. International. Full-text.

• ProQuest Social Science Journals
  Covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and other areas.

• SAGE Journals
  SAGE journals cover a wide range of topics including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine.

• Times Digital Archive
  Digital image archive of material from the Times (London) newspaper. UK focus. Full-text. 1785-2013.

• World's Fairs: A Global History of Expositions (Adam Matthew Digital Archive)
  Rich archive collections bring together official records, monographs, publicity, artwork and artifacts for exploring the phenomenon of world's fairs; from the Crystal Palace in 1851 and the proliferation of North American exhibitions, to fairs around the world and twenty-first century expos.

Journals

• Choice
  Unbiased consumer information you can trust from the Australian Consumers' Association.

Law

• Judicial Information Research System (JIRS)
  Developed by the Judicial Commission and designed for judicial officers, the courts, the legal profession and government agencies, JIRS is an extensive, interconnected and hypertext-linked online database that contains case law, legislation, sentencing principles, sentencing statistics and other reference material of use to trial judges.
  Australian. Full-text.

Multidisciplinary

• Academic Search Complete
  Multidisciplinary, including area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, women's studies, zoology. Full-text. International. Some content from 1887-
  Tip: In Search Options select Limit your results - Full Text.

• Asia-Studies Full-text Online
  Study of modern Asia-Pacific, including finance, trade, environment, human resources development, government, tourism, education and women's studies. Full-text. International. Dates vary.

• Informit Databases - APAFT
  Collection of databases with literature on most topics, including Arts, Business, Education, Engineering, Health, Indigenous, and Technology. Australasian. Limited full-text.
  Tip: Click on 'Change Databases' to find Informit databases related to a subject area.

• Project MUSE
  Journal content from a range of respected publishers in the humanities, culture, social sciences, and mathematics. International. UOW subscribes to a selection of titles in this database.
  Tip: Full-text access is marked with a green tick. Tick the "Only content I have full access to" box to search UOW subscribed content only.

• ProQuest Central
  Coverage in a broad range of subject areas. Includes several databases which may be searched either individually or in combinations. International. Full-text. Dates vary.

• Sustainable Organization Library
  The world's leading collection on sustainability and social responsibility, including book chapters, case studies and journal articles. It supports research, teaching, practice and policy-making.

News

• Australia & New Zealand Newsstream
  Newspapers and newswires from Australia and New Zealand. Full-text. Australian. Dates vary.

• Factiva
  Newspaper and television news sources, business and company information. International. Full-text.
  Once connected, click Search on the top nav bar.
  Tip: To email your full-text results - In the tools menu, click on the RTF icon or the Download Article in PDF icon > Select preferred format > Open downloaded document and save then email.

• ProQuest Newsstream
  Newspapers and newswires from overseas,excluding graphics, advertisements, & classifieds. International. Full-text. Dates vary.
  (For Australia and New Zealand - see ANZ Newsstand).

Science & Technology

• ACM Digital Library
  Information technology, computing and related fields, including magazine articles, and conference proceedings from the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). International. 1954+.

• CSIRO
  Internationally recognised publications covering a wide range of scientific disciplines including agriculture, the plant and animal sciences, and environmental management. Full-text.

• ICE Virtual Library
  Content from ICE Publishing, the publishing division of the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE).
  Subjects covered include building design, earthquake engineering, innovation and research, water and waste water.
  Tip:Use the 'Key' to identify full-text access. UOW has full-text access to subscribed, open access, free and trial content.

• IEEE Xplore
  Electrical and electronic engineering. Quality technical literature including IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, standards, and conference proceedings. International. Full-text. 1988.+

• Lecture Notes in Computer Science
  New developments in computer science and information technology research and teaching. International. Full-text. 1997+.

• MathSciNet
  Contains reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, includes links to original articles and other original documents on web sites. Index only. No full-text.

• Nature Journals Online
  Science research. International. Full-text. Dates vary
  Full-text is available for UOW subscribed journals and open access titles.

• ScienceDirect
  Journals and ebooks published by Elsevier and other STM publishers, covering multidisciplinary topics from the life and social sciences, technology and business, as well as science. International. Full-text. Dates vary.
  Tip: In advanced search, use the drop down menu to select subscribed sources if desired, also limit using the subject drop down menu.

• Scopus
  The largest citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature and scientific web sources (covers scientific, technical, medical, social sciences literature as well as arts and humanities). No full-text.

• Wiley Online Library
  Journals published by Wiley, with coverage in science and technology, life and behavioural sciences, business and finance. International. Dates vary.

Access free and open access resources here.