Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Measuring Research 

Last update: Oct 30th, 2009 URL: http://uow.libguides.com/measuringresearch  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Identifying library holdings for book titles             Print Page
  
 

Introduction

Identifying library national and international holdings for book titles provides alternative data for your publications. There is no one site that provides a comprehensive search. Please note, that not all libraries catalogue all titles.

 

London Academic Libraries

London Libraries allows searching across multiple academic library catalogues.

Other measures

 
 

Libraries Australia

Libraries Australia is the Australian national database that allows you to search for items, identify the bibliographic details and locate the libraries that hold the items.

  • Click on Select Databases if you would like to search other library catalogues, such as the British Library Catalogue
  • Tick relevant databases, all may be selected
  • Click on Save changes
  • Change the Title drop-down menu to Author
  • Enter the author's name, for example, beder s?
  • Change the all of these drop-down menu to as a phrase
  • Enter the title of the book, for example, global spin
  • Change the all of these drop-down menu to as a phrase
  • Click on search
 

Libraries outside Australia

The National Library of Australia provides a gateway to overseas libraries. Use this link to search for European and other library holdings.

Overseas libraries by type

Groups libraries by type such as National, Government, Academic, Art, Scientific.

  • For example, click on National Libraries / Europe
  • Click on Advanced search
  • Change the Any field drop-down menu to Author
  • Enter the author's name, for example, dinesen
  • Enter the beginning of the title, for example, out of africa
 
 

WorldCat via FirstSearch

WorldCat is similar to Libraries Australia, but the focus is on libraries within the United States.

  • Login (contact staff at the Research Help desk for the password)
  • Click on WorldCat
  • Enter author's name, for example, beder
  • Enter the title of the book, for example, global spin
  • Click Search
  • Click on Libraries Worldwide to view a list of library holdings
 

Directory of Union Catalogues


A directory of all known current national union catalogues in the world. The directory records the type of material for each catalogue, for example serial, monographs, newspapers.

  • Type a * into the search box
  • Click on Submit
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait