Finding academic journals
Academic journalsBooksCourse material on a reading listJournal articles using databases
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Wollongong College Australia 

Last update: Nov 11th, 2009 URL: http://uow.libguides.com/wca  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Journal articles using databases             Print Page
  
 

Search Tips

    Show Me

How can I combine my keywords in a search? [WEB PAGE]

 

Show Me

Improving your search using truncation [332KB PDF]

 

Show Me

Finding a journal article [1.1MB SWF]

 

Show Me

How my choice of keywords affects my search results [661KB PDF]

 

Use the following search strategy worksheet to help you plan for assignments [197k]

 

Search databases to find journal articles

 

The following is a list of databases to try first when searching for journal articles on your topic. You will find the full list of databases for Wollongong College Australia here.

  • APAFT : Australian Public Affairs Full Text  
    Fulltext (1995 -) Business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
  • Business Source Premier  
    Business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.
  • Emerald  
    Management, marketing, accounting
  • Expanded Academic ASAP  
    (1980 - present)
    General database in arts, humanities and social sciences. Partial fulltext
  • ProQuest Central  
    Business, health, current affairs, economics, politics, social sciences.
  • Science Direct  
    Life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. 1995 - present
 

What is the difference between a database and google scholar?

Library databases Google
University focus Useful results hidden in a jungle
Target journal articles Everything and anything!
Better results in less pages Results in 1000s of pages
Fulltext scholarly articles
May need to pay for scholarly articles $$$
Refines your search by subject area, date and lots more! Fewer limits available
UOW quota free Runs down your quota
 
 

Database Tips

Show MeSearching ProQuest Central [712KB SWF]

 

Show Me

Finding newspaper articles using Factiva [1.1MB SWF]

 

Using Business Source Premier [1.5MB PPS]

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait