Try first !
- Retail World's Australasian Grocery Guide
Includes items found on Australian supermarket shelves by product type, brand share and company share. Print - Consumer International
Includes sales volume and sales value of 330 different product types for different countries, including Australia. Print
Online
- Australian Food Statistics
- Choice
Australian consumer products - Superbrands Major Australian brands, includes brief product details, history, etc. Also try Previous Editions.
- Brandweek US journal. Hint: select a database for access, then search within the journal title for the product e.g. shampoo
- Household Products Database
- Superbrands Major Australian brands
- Retail World
Print journal. Indexed in Proquest Central - abstract only - Marketing
Australian marketing journal, some brand/product information. No index, browse only - Consumer Asia

Searching for product information
Add to a search:
- brand name, e.g. Weetbix
- product type, e.g. toothpaste
- company name, e.g. Billabong
- SIC (Standard Industry Classifications) codes (see Industry information for codes)
Use a company and industry database.
Which Library databases have product information? Try this guide: Where do I start? [PDF 48 KB] Look for the following columns: Product Information, Brands/trade names, Market segments (by product)
Use limits of database:
- Business Source Premier: limit to "Product Review"
- Proquest 5000: limit to "Product Name"
- Exapnded Academic ASAP: limit to "Brand Name"
- Computer Database: limit to "Brand Name"
- Business databases:limit results to "Magazines" or "Trade publications"
- Non-business databases: enter product type, then limit results by business subjects e.g. "Business & Economics"
Choice of database. Depending on the product, search in a non-business database.
- Engineering/materials products try: Ceramic Abstracts, Aluminium Industry Abstracts, Cooper Data Center, Materials Business File, Metadex
- Health/Pharmacy products try: Access Pharmacy, Australian Medicines Handbook
- Informatics products try: Computer Database
Think broader!
- Find Industry information. You may need to apply industry information to your product. Example: find information about toothpaste in Personal Care or Personal and Household Products. Some industry data includes named products or product types (e.g. cheddar, hard, mould, fresh cheeses, etc)
- Use primary sources. Interviews, surveys, product assessment. Example: contact wholesalers for cost per metre.
Brands
- Best Australian Brands 2009 (Interbrand)
- Best Global Brands 2009 (Interbrand)
Market Segmentation
Patents
- Patents webpage What is a patent? How to search for patents, etc.
- Databases with patent limits:
* Materials Business File
* Aluminium Abstracts
* Ceramic Abstracts
* Cooper Data Center
* Lexis.com
* Metadex
* Scifinder Scholar
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait