Library Research Methodology
Lecture PowerPoint slides [PDF 2.8MB]
Library Tutorial PowerPoint slides [PDF 1.2MB]
Week 8: Library Research Methodology Worksheet [PDF 44 KB]
Academic Journals
Unless you are using a Peer Reviewed database like IEEE, you must evaluate all references for: Academic content, Bias and relevance and reliability.
If unsure, check the Finding Academic Journals tutorial.
Researching a key historical figure
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and more...
- McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science & technology (20 volume set) Main Library, Level 1, call no. 503/1
- Oxford Reference Online – Encyclopedias on a range of subject areas.
Note the source i.e. coverage in the Oxford Dictionary is not as comprehensive as Dictionary of Scientists.
See also: Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science - Times Digital Archive – The Times (London) newspaper. International but with a British focus. Covers the years from 1785-1985.
- IEEE History Center – Historical resources on key people in electrical engineering and computing.http://www.ieee.org/web/aboutus/history_center/
Books or ebooks
- Use a simple search in Search Guru to locate some very useful books on your topic!
Useful databases to research a key historical figure
- JSTOR
Fulltext archive (historic) scholarly journals. No access to last 10 years. - IEEE Xplore
IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings and all current IEEE standards - Inspec
Physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, and information technology - ProQuest
(Acess dates vary), International
Some fulltext, contains several databases which may be searched either individually or in combinations, mulitdisciplinary
Finding the fulltext
Some databases do not provide the fulltext article.
To locate the fulltext, use a Journal Title Search in the UOW Library catalogue.
Description
Loading content... please wait







Loading content... please wait