Searching the web
Developed by Commoncraft and available from youtube

Loading Video Clip...
What's the difference?
| Library databases | |
| University focus | Useful results hidden in a jungle |
| Target journal articles | Everything and anything! |
| Better results in less pages | Results in 1000s of pages |
| Fulltext scholarly articles |
May need to pay for scholarly articles $$$ |
| Refines your search by subject area, date and lots more! | Fewer limits available |
| UOW quota free | Runs down your quota |
Online Resources
Adult literacy
- Adult Literacy and Numeracy Australian Research Consortium
From the Commonwealth Department of Education, Training and Youth Affairs, this site provides links to useful literacy information from across the Education and Training Sector
Linguistics
- Australian Systemic Functional Linguistics Association
- Center for Applied Linguistics
CAL carries out a wide range of activities including research, teacher education, analysis and dissemination of information, design and development of instructional materials.
Literacies and communication difficulties
- American Speech Language Hearing Association
Under the Publications section of this site you can look at the four journals produced by this Association and view their tables of contents with abstracts.
Literacy and reading
- International Reading Association
This site provides tables of contents for their professional journals, information about international literacy projects and more.
Government departments
- Boards of Studies New South Wales
Access all NSW syllabi online as well as other relevant curriculum information. - New South Wales Department of Education and Training
- NSW HSC Online
- Commonwealth DEST- Literacy and Numeracy
Statistics
- AusStats (ABS) Themes - Education and training
- National Center for Education Statistics (US)
- Education Statistics UNESCO Institute for Statistics
- How to find statistics
UOW sites
Google scholar
(search results open in a new window)
Beyond Google
Literacy and education
- Academic Info: Education
- Awesome Library
- Education World
- Education Planet
- Education Virtual Library
- WWW Virtual Library
- Yahoo! Social Science: Linguistics and Human Languages
One of the Internet's oldest directories. This link takes you directly to the Linguistics and Human Languages section of Yahoo. - Asia-Pacific Literacy Database
Developed by ACCU and PROAP in co-operation with government and non-government literacy agencies in the region. The database does not have search facilities but works more like a directory.
Further references
- EduSearch.com.au
- Google Scholar
- Infomine: Scholarly Internet Resource Collection
- Other search engines and directories
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait