Finding academic journals
academic journalsbooksjournal articles using databases
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Graphic Design 

Last update: Oct 07th, 2009 URL: http://uow.libguides.com/graphic  Print Guide  RSS Updates

journal articles using databases             Print Page
  

Search tips

 

Search databases to find journal articles

Try these databases first. A complete list of CREATIVE ARTS databases is available here.

  • Art Abstracts  
    International, 1984 to the present, citation only, covers all aspects of art including art history, crafts, graphic arts, painting, photography, sculpture and textiles. Indexes reproductions of works of art appearing in journals.
  • AustArt  
    Australian, citation only , index to Australian and International artists.
  • Australian Public Affairs full text - APAFT  
    Australian, 1978 to the present, partial full-text, covers social sciences and humanities.
  • Expanded Academic ASAP  
    International. 1980 to the present. Partial full text. General Database with information in arts
  • Factiva  
    International, time coverage varies, full-text, access to newspapers including Australian regional, state and national papers.
  • JSTOR  
    International, time coverage varies, full-text, archival, art, cultural studies and film.
  • Project Muse  
    International, time coverage varies, full-text, art, cultural studies and film.
  • Proquest Central  
    International, time coverage varies, full-text, multidisciplinary
  • Sage  
    International, time coverage varies, full-text.
 

Saving results

because all databse search interfaces are different we need a generic statement that these procedures can be done; i.e looks for a tick box, mark and email, Refer to the databases online help

 
 

What is the difference between a database and google scholar?

Library databases Google
University focus Useful results hidden in a jungle
Target journal articles Everything and anything!
Better results in less pages Results in 1000s of pages
Fulltext scholarly articles
May need to pay for scholarly articles $$$
Refines your search by subject area, date and lots more! Fewer limits available
UOW quota free Runs down your quota
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait