Searching the web
Developed by Commoncraft and available from youtube

Loading Video Clip...
Websites for you to try
American history
- AmDocs: Documents for the Study of United States History - University of Kansas
- History - American and British - Rutgers University Libraries
- History Place - American and modern world history
- Chronicling America - Historic American Newspapers (BETA) Searches newspaper pages from 1880-1910 (and views) and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Library of Congress
- Encyclopedia Smithsonian - History and culture
Ancient history
- Diotima - Resources on women and gender
- Encyclopedia Mythica
- Internet Ancient History Sourcebook - Fulltext access to primary sources
- Ancient History: Romans - BBC Television
- Ancient Rome - Directory of sites with art, biographies, daily life, maps, pictures, and related research
- Classical Studies
- Library of Congress - Classical and Medieval History Resources
Asian history
- Indonesia: Society and Culture - Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies at ANU
- Internet East Asian History Sourcebook
- WWW Virtual Library: Asian Studies - Australian National University
Australian history
- Australian History on the Internet - National Library of Australia
- Documenting A Democracy: Australia's Story - National Archives of Australia
- Federation Gateway - National Library of Australia
- Australian Federation Full Text Database - University of Sydney
- Australia Screen - Australian film clips from the last 100 years
- Visit Gallipoli - Dept Veterans' Affairs - Australia
- Australians and Work - Video clips selected videos from the Film Australia archives, showing everyday Australians at work.
- Superbrands - images and information of Australia's best known products
European history
- Eurodocs - Fulltext historical documents from Western Europe
- WESSWEB - Western Europe Studies
- WWW Virtual Library: Russian History Index
- Europeana - attempts to digitise the history of Europe. Searches historic publications and can also connect with some archive websites in Europe.
Medieval history
Other useful sites
- History On-Line - Institute of Historical Research (UK)
- Historical Text Archive - Links to sites worldwide
- Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy - Yale Law School
- Carrie Full-text Electronic Library: Documents Room - University of Kansas
- World War I Document Archive - Brigham Young University
What's the difference?
| Library databases | |
| University focus | Useful results hidden in a jungle |
| Target journal articles | Everything and anything! |
| Better results in less pages | Results in 1000s of pages |
| Fulltext scholarly articles |
May need to pay for scholarly articles $$$ |
| Refines your search by subject area, date and lots more! | Fewer limits available |
| UOW quota free | Runs down your quota |
Google scholar
(search results open in a new window)
Beyond Google
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait