Finding academic journals
academic journalsarchives help guide aust. education & welfare history australian women's history biographies booksgovernment publications historical primary sources information on Politics journal articles using databasesnewspapers - current newspapers - historical parliamentary debates parliamentary papers statistics 
HIST318 HIST350/AUST350HSC History Extension 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

History 

Last update: Oct 08th, 2009 URL: http://uow.libguides.com/history  Print Guide  RSS Updates

journal articles using databases            Print Page
  

Search tips

 

Search databases to find journal articles

Try these databases first

  • Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT)  
    (Index 1978 - present Fulltext 1995 - present)
    Covers information on current affairs, humanities, politics and social sciences. Australian. Partial fulltext
  • Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)  
    (Access dates vary)
    International affairs, comparative politics, area studies
  • Expanded Academic ASAP  
    (1980 - present)
    General database in arts, humanities and social sciences. Partial fulltext
  • Project Muse  
    (Access dates vary)
    Includes history, political science. International. Partial fulltext
  • JSTOR  
    (Access dates vary)
    Fulltext archives of significant scholarly journals. Includes arts, humanities and social sciences
  • More ARTS databases  
    Complete list of UOW databases for Arts
 

What is the difference between a database and google scholar?

Library databases Google
University focus Useful results hidden in a jungle
Target journal articles Everything and anything!
Better results in less pages Results in 1000s of pages
Fulltext scholarly articles
May need to pay for scholarly articles $$$
Refines your search by subject area, date and lots more! Fewer limits available
UOW quota free Runs down your quota
 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait