Searching the web
Developed by Commoncraft and available from youtube

Loading Video Clip...
Government Departments and Agencies
AIATSIS - Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies
Australian Human Rights & Equal Opportunity Commission - Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice
National Native Title Tribunal
Government information - links from the Library's E-Reference page
Indigenous Newspapers
Koorie Mail - is indexed by Infokoori from the State Library of NSW.
National Indigenous Times - has a searchable archive in full text from March 2002
Websites
General Resources
- Indigenous Affairs Resources - contains government information resources, directories, statistics, issues. (Department of the Parliamentary Library)
- Indigenous Australians - Hosted by the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, this site contains a range of publications and assorted material
- Indigenous Australians - State Library of New South Wales Collection
Aboriginal Art
- Aboriginal Studies WWW
Virtual Library -A comprehensive and quality resource on all aspects of
aboriginal studies. The focus is on indigenous Australians and includes links to
Aboriginal art,
culture and spirituality
- AIATSIS - Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies.
- Jinta DesertArt Aboriginal Art Gallery -Art Wholesaler, Retailer and Consultants specializing in Aboriginal Art from the Central Desert of Australia. This site includes an iconography page and artist's biographies.
- Message Stick - Message stick is part of ABC Indigenous Online and acts as a gateway to indigenous content on ABC TV and Radio.
Culture
- Aboriginal Art and Culture Centre, Alice Springs - Hosted by Aboriginal artists
- Australian Screen - Indigenous Content - excerpts from selected Australian film and television including a synopsis and curator's notes
History
- Aboriginal History in the early Illawarra - Wollongong City Library Land Rights and Native Title
Land Rights and Native Title
- Australians for Native Title and Reconciliation Native title and reconciliation issues
- Mabo v Queensland No. 2 1992 (Cth) This case inserted the legal doctrine of native title into Australian law
- National Native Title Tribunal Australian Commonwealth Government agency
- Native Title Research Unit Current native title issues (Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies)
Reconciliation and Social Justice
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Social Justice (part of Australian Human Rights & Equal Opportunity Commission) Indigenous human rights issues such as stolen children and deaths in custody
- AustLII Indigenous Law Resources Government reports and publications including the 'Bringing Them Home' report and 'Royal Commission into Aboriginal Deaths in Custody'
- Reconciliation Australia An independent, not-for-profit body established in January 2001 to provide a continuing national focus for reconciliation. This site includes a wide range of publications, speeches and media releases as well as an archive of documents for the Council for Aboriginal Reconciliation 1991-2000
What's the difference?
| Library databases | |
| University focus | Useful results hidden in a jungle |
| Target journal articles | Everything and anything! |
| Better results in less pages | Results in 1000s of pages |
| Fulltext scholarly articles |
May need to pay for scholarly articles $$$ |
| Refines your search by subject area, date and lots more! | Fewer limits available |
| UOW quota free | Runs down your quota |
Google scholar
(search results open in a new window)
Beyond Google
Directories organise Internet resources by subject. The information provided in directories is created, arranged and maintained by people rather than machines.
- Aboriginal History
- Aboriginal Studies
- Black Book Directory - a listing of indigenous people and organisations involved in the arts, media and cultural industries
Other search engines and directories
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait