Searching the web
Developed by Commoncraft and available from youtube

Loading Video Clip...
Websites
Australian Literature
- Australian Literature on the Internet - National Library of Australia guide
- Guide to Australian Literary Manuscripts - National Library of Australia guide
- Vicnet - Australian literature from the State Library of Victoria
- Project Gutenberg of Australia - Online texts by Australian writers, works about Australia and works which may be of interest to Australians
- SETIS: Australian Literary and Historical Texts - Fulltext collection of 19th and early 20th century Australian literary and historical texts from the University of Sydney
Awards and Prizes
- Literary awards - Australia State Library of Australia
- Literary awards - International State Library of Australia
Books and short stories online
Canadian literature
- Canadian literature - includes digital collections, virtual exhibitions and research guides from the National Library of Canada
Children's Literature
- Australian Authors and Illustrators
- Children's Book Council of Australia - includes links to related sites
- Children's Literature Web Guide - links to sites worldwide
Literary History
- Literary History.com -Academic, scholarly, and critical articles on British and American writers, poets, novelists and playwrights
Plays
- Inter-Play: contains more than 44,000 entries for plays and is easily searchable by author and/or title
Poetry
- Bartleby.com Verse
- Representative Poetry On-Line - University of Toronto English Library
- SETIS: Australian Verse Texts - University of Sydney Library
Romanticism
Science Fiction and Fantasy
- Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database - online index to historical and critical items about science fiction, fantasy and horror
UOW sites
- Faculty of Arts - English Studies Program
What's the difference?
| Library databases | |
| University focus | Useful results hidden in a jungle |
| Target journal articles | Everything and anything! |
| Better results in less pages | Results in 1000s of pages |
| Fulltext scholarly articles |
May need to pay for scholarly articles $$$ |
| Refines your search by subject area, date and lots more! | Fewer limits available |
| UOW quota free | Runs down your quota |
Google scholar
(search results open in a new window)
Beyond Google
Other search engines and directories
Directories organise Internet resources by subject. The information provided in directories is created, arranged and maintained by people rather than machines.
- Academic Info: Comparative Literature Gateway
- Literary Resources on the Net
- Voice of the Shuttle: Literary Theory
- Voice of the Shuttle: Literature in English
- Voice of the Shuttle: Literatures other than English
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait