ENGL906 Modernism and its Others
This guide has been developed for the ENGL906. It will provide you with quick links to resources which will be of most use to you when looking for information to answer your assessment tasks.
Additional database resources
Finding Primary Sources UOW Library Guide
Historical Newspaper UOW Library Guide
Times Digital Archive from the databases of the UOW Library
Fulltext and graphics of The Times (London) backfile 1785-1985
ProQuest Historical Newspapers (from the NSW State Library, a readers' card is required, see notes below to join)
Includes searchable full text, page and article images of :
- Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1986)
- Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 1994)
- Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1986)
- New York Times (1851 - 2004)
- Wall Street Journal (1889 - 1990)
- Washington Post (1877 - 1991)
Times Literary Supplement (TLS) Centenary Archive (from the NSW State Library, a readers' card is required, see notes below to join) The Times Literary Supplement (TLS) Centenary Archive contains the complete edition of the TLS from 1902-1990 and the TLS Index. Identities of contributors to the TLS - reviewers, and writers of essays, letters and poems are disclosed in this database, their biographical information is included.
State Library of New South Wales: www.sl.nsw.gov.au/databases/athome.cfm provides databases which can be searched from home. You need to register to use this service. Read the information on "Applying for a Reader's Card" and then register online.
National Library of Australia: www.nla.gov.au/app/eresources provides databases which can be searched from home. You must register to use this service. Read the information at "get a library card" then click on the button "New User" and complete the online form.
Subject Headings for the major assignment
Journals to search at the UOW Library
Modernism/modernity available online from 1994 to the present
ELH- Presents studies that interpret the historical conditions affecting major works in English and American literature, addressing historical, critical, and theoretical concerns
Subject headings of UOW Library holdings
Eliot, T. S. (Thomas Stearns), 1888-1965
H. D. (Hilda Doolittle), 1886-1961
Lawrence, D. H. (David Herbert), 1885-1930
Modernism Web sites
The Modernist Lab - from Yale University - is a site dedicated to collaborative research into the roots of literary modernism.
The Modernist Lab - Digitial Archive - from Yale University - electronic texts and digitized versions of works in the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library at Yale Univeristy.
Modernism - e.notes.com is a commerical site offering educational resource on varied topics.
The Style of the Period
Masters of Modernism - this site is included here to provide examples of the style of the period (lighting, jewellery, silver & hardware). It is a commercial venture which produces reproductions (for purchase) of Modernist design.
Museum of Modern Art of New York - online collection including images of architecture & design, drawings, film, painting & scultpure for the period pre 1920 and the 1920s & 1930s.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait