Finding academic journals
academic journalsBiography Book reviews booksFilm & Television Studies journal articles using databases
ENGL120 An Introduction to Literature and Screen StudiesENGL903 Research MethodsENGL906 Modernism and its OthersHSC English Extension 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

English Studies 

Last update: Oct 07th, 2009 URL: http://uow.libguides.com/englishstudies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

ENGL120 An Introduction to Literature and Screen Studies            Print Page
  
 

ENGL120 An Introduction to Literature and Screen Studies

This guide has been developed for the ENGL120. It will  provide you with quick links to resources which will be of most use to you when looking for information to answer your assessment tasks.

 

Referencing in English Studies

The English Studies Guide to Essay Writing provides guidance in the use of the New MLA style. All the information provided in this document is important however Citation and Bibliography commences on page 16.

 

ENGL120 Library information

The information on this page will help you get started with your Library searches.
Take time browse this page and come back to it when you need to.
If you get stuck, and can't find what you need, ask for some help from the Library

 

Find that book

SearchGuru demonstration [PDF 1.31 MB]
Classic Catalogue demonstration [PDF 1.2 MB]

 

Check the Library's classic catalogue for books for your essay by using keywords, alternative keywords and truncation.

For example This search will find the following combination of words
detective detective
AND and must include either of the following words
fiction* OR literature
fiction; fictional; fictions; literature
AND and must also include any of these words
critic* critic; critics; criticism; critical
 

Helpful guides from the UOW Learning Development

Take a look at these great guides for help with critically analysing what you read and then writing your report.

Critical Thinking [PDF 28 KB]

UniLearning an online guide to help you to develop and practice your study and writing skills.

 

Need help? ... Contact Library Staff

 Janelle Smith, Silla Kjar, Diana Thomas & Sandra Vynes from Shoalhaven Campus Library 

Shoalhaven,
Batemans Bay,
Moss Vale,
Bega &
Wollongong
Library Staff

Here to help you     

Debbie Williams, Rhiannon Sheppard & Jodee Burnett from Batemans Bay Community Library
Michelle Morgan from Moss Vale Library Penny Amberg & Ros Raward from Bega Valley Shire Library

Lesley Smith from Wollongong main campus Library

If you can't find what you need, ask for some help from the Library

 
 

We'd love to know your feedback

Have you used this guide to help with resources for your essay?
We'd love your feedback
(9 quick questions).

Thanks,
The Library
 

 

Get started with your own search strategy

What is a search strategy? Click here [PDF 118 KB]

Use the search strategy worksheet to create your own plan for searching databases and the Library's catalogue

Click here and start working on your own search strategy

 

Need definitions or background for your essay?

Use subject dictionaries and encyclopedias for definitions & overviews

View the Oxford Reference Online demonstration [PDF 805 KB]

 

Access the Oxford Reference Online or Printed References

Online Database
Oxford Reference Online
Print Resources

Bedford Glossary of Critical and Literary Terms 801.9503/3

Cambridge companion to Australian literature 828.993/44
Encyclopedia of post-colonial literatures in English 820.991712/15
The New Princeton encyclopedia of poetry and poetics 809.103/1A

 

Journal articles for your arguement ... Use a database

The examples below demonstrate searching databases that may be useful for your assignment.

Click on them to open and then move through the slides by using the navigation arrows at the top of the screen.
   

MLA  example [PDF 1.21 MB] Access MLA

JSTOR example [PDF 840 KB]

Access JSTOR         

APAFT (Australian) example [PDF 1.53 MB]

Access APAFT
 

What ... the database isn't showing you the full text!

Some databases only provide a reference. How do you find the fulltext?

Click the Show me icon at left for a short guide to finding the full text of a journal article

Try this for yourself. Locate this article.

Alexander N. Howe. "The Detective and the Analyst: Truth, Knowledge, and Psychoanalysis in the Hard-Boiled Fiction of Raymond Chandler." Clues 24(4) (2006):15-29. 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait