Finding academic journals
academic journalsbooksEnglish Studies journal articles using databasesMedia and Cultural Studies 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Film and Television Studies 

Last update: Oct 07th, 2009 URL: http://uow.libguides.com/filmandtelevision  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Library class - MACS288            Print Page
  
 

Books that might interest you... but there are others, so try a keyword search

An introduction to world cinema / Aristides Gazetas  (2008)

East Asian Cinemas: Exploring Transnational Connections on Film / edited by Leon Hunt &  Leung Wing-Fai  (2008)

The Oxford history of world cinema / edited by Geoffrey Nowell-Smith

Remapping world cinema: identity, culture and politics in film / edited by Stephanie Dennison & Song Hwee Lim (2006)

Screening world cinema: a screen reader / edited by Catherine Grant & Annette Kuhn (2006)

Traditions in world cinema / edited by Linda Badley, R. Barton Palmer & Steven Jay Schneider  (2006)

World Cinema's 'Dialogues' With Hollywood/ Paul Cooke (2007) [electronic resource]

 

Additional Tips for Searching the UOW Library

Search Guru

  • use this for a quick search of the UOW Library catalogue
  • It's a bit like a search engine search, so keep your search simple.
  • Try it – it can also help you with key words found in the tag cloud on the Search Guru search page.

OR

Classic Catalogue

  • when you know the details of an item (author or title, etc) or,
  • if you want to do more advanced searching (using AND, OR & truncation).

Article Finder

  • for a quick search of multiple databases
  • again it's a bit like a search engine search
 OR

Search an individual Database selected from;

  • the Film and Television Libguide / databases to try
  • Databases – start from Library home page / Search - Databases: journal articles and more / Arts

 

 
 

Journals ... note the databases providing access, use these to search on your topic

Click on this link for find journals that 'cover the Movies'
Motion Picture - Periodicals

OR select from the journal titles highlighted below

Camera Obscura [print & electronic]

Cinema Journal [electronic]

Journal of Film and Video

The Journal of Popular Film and Television

Film Comment [print & electronic]

Film History

Film International [electronic]

Film Quarterly [electronic]

Films in Review

Framework [electronic]

Metro [print]

Variety

The Velvet Light Trap [electronic]

 

Refereed journals

 To verify a journal is refereed search the ULRICH'S Periodical Directory database.

Some databases such as ProQuest and Expanded Academic ASAP allow you to limit your search results to academic / refereed journals.

 

Can't I just google?

Kindly provided by LaTrobe University Library

http://latrobe.libguides.com/google

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait