Finding academic journals
academic journalsbooksEnglish Studies Film and Television Studies journal articles using databasesliterature review guide newspapers 
BCM 102MACS 120 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Media and Cultural Studies 

Last update: Oct 08th, 2009 URL: http://uow.libguides.com/mediaandcultural  Print Guide  RSS Updates

journal articles using databases            Print Page
  

Search tips

 

Search databases to find journal articles

Try these databases first

  • Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT)  
    (Index 1978 - present Fulltext 1995 - present), Australian
    Current affairs, humanities, politics and social sciences. Australian. Partial fulltext
  • Expanded Academic ASAP  
    (1980 - present)
    General database in arts, humanities and social sciences. Partial fulltext
  • Factiva  
    (Access dates vary), International including Australia
    Fulltext access to newspapers and television news sources
  • Informaworld  
    (Access dates vary), International
    Over 1000 journals in many disciplines. Strengths in Social Sciences and Humanities.
  • JSTOR  
    (Access dates vary)
    Fulltext archives of significant scholarly journals. Includes arts, humanities and social sciences
  • Project Muse  
    (Acess dates vary), International
    Fulltext. Includes cultural studies, film, theatre and performing arts.
    International
  • SAGE Journals Online  
    (Access dates vary), International
    Virtually all journals published by SAGE. This publisher publishes in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
  • More ARTS databases  
    Complete list of UOW databases for Arts
 

What's the difference?

Library databases Google
University focus Useful results hidden in a jungle
Target journal articles Everything and anything!
Better results in less pages Results in 1000s of pages
Fulltext scholarly articles
May need to pay for scholarly articles $$$
Refines your search by subject area, date and lots more! Fewer limits available
UOW quota free Runs down your quota
 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait