Finding academic journals
academic journalsbiographies booksgovernment information government publications history HR Management resources journal articles using databasesliterature review guide news services & media releases newspapers parliamentary debates parliamentary papers statistics 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Politics 

Last update: Oct 08th, 2009 URL: http://uow.libguides.com/politics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

journal articles using databases            Print Page
  

Search tips

 

Search databases to find journal articles

Try these databases first

  • Academic Onefile  
    Extensive coverage of the social sciences, physical sciences, technology, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
  • Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT)  
    (Index 1978 - present Fulltext 1995 - present)
    Covers information on current affairs, humanities, politics and social sciences. Australian. Partial fulltext
  • Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)  
    (Access dates vary)
    International affairs, comparative politics, area studies
  • Expanded Academic ASAP  
    (1980 - present)
    General database in arts, humanities and social sciences. Partial fulltext
  • Project Muse  
    (Access dates vary)
    Includes history, political science. International. Partial fulltext
  • Factiva  
    (Access dates vary), International including Australia
    Fulltext access to newspapers and television news sources
  • JSTOR  
    (Access dates vary)
    Fulltext archives of significant scholarly journals. Includes arts, humanities and social sciences
  • More ARTS databases  
    Complete list of UOW databases for Arts
 

What's the difference?

Library databases Google
University focus Useful results hidden in a jungle
Target journal articles Everything and anything!
Better results in less pages Results in 1000s of pages
Fulltext scholarly articles
May need to pay for scholarly articles $$$
Refines your search by subject area, date and lots more! Fewer limits available
UOW quota free Runs down your quota
 
 

Refereed journals

Some databases such as ProQuest and Expanded Academic ASAP allow you to limit your search results to academic / refereed journals.

What is a Refereed Journal? Click here  for a description or view the "Show me!" video below

 

To verify a journal is refereed search the ULRICH'S Periodical Directory database.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait