Finding academic journals
academic journalsbooksgovernment information journal articles using databasesnewspapers 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Science, Technology and Society 

Last update: Oct 08th, 2009 URL: http://uow.libguides.com/sts  Print Guide  RSS Updates

journal articles using databases            Print Page
  

Search tips

 

Search databases to find journal articles

Try these databases first

  • Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT)  
    (Index 1978 - present Fulltext 1995 - present), Australian
    Covers information on current affairs, humanities, politics and social sciences. Partial fulltext
  • Expanded Academic ASAP  
    (1980 - present), International
    General database in arts, humanities and social sciences. Partial fulltext
  • JSTOR  
    (Access dates vary)
    Fulltext archives of significant scholarly journals. Includes arts, humanities and social sciences
  • ProQuest  
    (Acess dates vary), International
    Some fulltext, contains several databases which may be searched either individually or in combinations, mulitdisciplinary
  • Sage Journals online  
    (Access dates vary), International
    Virtually all journals published by SAGE. This publisher publishes in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
  • ScienceDirect  
    (Access 1995 - present), International
    Life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Some fulltext. International.
  • More ARTS databases  
    Complete list of UOW databases for Arts
 

What's the difference?

Library databases Google
University focus Useful results hidden in a jungle
Target journal articles Everything and anything!
Better results in less pages Results in 1000s of pages
Fulltext scholarly articles
May need to pay for scholarly articles $$$
Refines your search by subject area, date and lots more! Fewer limits available
UOW quota free Runs down your quota
 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait