Finding academic journals
academic journalsbooksjournal articles using databasesliterature review guide newspapers statistics UOW history, facts and figures 
SOC 103SOC 231SOC 272
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Sociology 

Last update: Oct 08th, 2009 URL: http://uow.libguides.com/sociology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

journal articles using databases            Print Page
  

Search tips

 

Search databases to find journal articles

Try these databases first

  • Australian Bureau of Statistics  
    Full text ABS publications from 1998+ , historical time series, spreadsheets and Census data.
  • Australian Public Affairs Full Text (APAFT)  
    Partial fulltext (index 1978 - present, fulltext 1995 - present) Australian:
    Current affairs, humanities, politics and social sciences
  • Expanded Academic ASAP  
    Partial fulltext (1980 - present) International:
    General database in arts, humanities and social sciences
  • Family and Society Plus  
    Partial fulltext (index 1978 - present, fulltext 2000 - present) Australian:
    Issues about, or of relevance to families
  • Informaworld  
    (Access dates vary), International
    Over 1000 journals in many disciplines. Strengths in Social Sciences and Humanities.
  • ProQuest Social Science Journals  
    Partial fulltext (access dates vary) International:
    Broad coverage of social sciences, subset of ProQuest database
  • Sociological Abstracts  
    (1952 - present, records after 1974 include abstracts) International:
    Sociology and related disciplines
  • More ARTS databases  
    Complete list of UOW databases for Arts
 

What's the difference?

Library databases Google
University focus Useful results hidden in a jungle
Target journal articles Everything and anything!
Better results in less pages Results in 1000s of pages
Fulltext scholarly articles
May need to pay for scholarly articles $$$
Refines your search by subject area, date and lots more! Fewer limits available
UOW quota free Runs down your quota
 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait