Finding academic journals
academic journalsbooksjournal articles using databasesliterature review guide newspapers statistics UOW history, facts and figures 
SOC 103SOC 231SOC 272
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Sociology 

Last update: Oct 08th, 2009 URL: http://uow.libguides.com/sociology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

SOC 103            Print Page
  
 

SOC 103 Library information

The information on this page will help you get started with your Library searches.
Take time browse this page and come back to it when you need to.
If you get stuck, and can't find what you need, ask for some help from the Library

 

Create you own search strategy

Use the search strategy worksheet to create your own plan for searching databases and the Library's catalogue

Click here and start working on your own search strategy

 

Examples of database searches on a SOC 103 topic

The two examples below demonstrate searching in two popular databases.

Click on them to open and then move through the slides by using the navigation arrows at the top of the screen.

ProQuest [PDF 592 KB]

Family and Society Plus (Australian) [PDF 1.09 MB]

 

Do you need to search newspapers?

Click here to see the Library Guide for newspapers held in the Library in print or that can be access via databases.


Two popular databases to find newspaper articles are Factiva (for International news including Australia) and ProQuest ANZ Newstand (for Australian and New Zealand only).

Factiva (click to access the database)
Australian and international newspapers
Click here to watch a demonstration of using FACTIVA

ProQuest ANZ Newstand (click to access the database)
Newspapers and newswires from Australia and New Zealand

 

Do you need to find Statistics?

The Library has a help guide for "Finding statistics"
Click here
to view the guide.

ABS [PDF 936 KB]
View a quick demonstration of a simple search in the AUSTRALIAN BUREAU OF STATISTICS
site.
Click on them to open and then move through the slides by using the navigation arrows at the top of the screen.

 
 

Finding BOOKS

Check the Library Catalogue for books on
STATISTICS for SOCIOLOGY

for example
(youth OR juvenile*) AND unemploy* AND statistic*


This search will find the following combination of words

youth; juvenile or juveniles

and must include either of the following words

unemployed or unemployable

and must also include any of these words

statistic; statistics; statistical or statistically


 

You have the article's details, how do you find the full text?

Some databases do not provide the the whole article, there may be only a summary or abstract.

Click on the Show Me television to watch a quick video on locating the full text of articles

 

Helpful guides from the UOW Learning Development

Take a look at these great guides for help with critically analysing what you read and then writing your report.

Critical Thinking [PDF 28 KB]

Report Writing [PDF 120 KB]

UniLearning an online guide to help you to develop and practice your study and writing skills.

 

Referencing and Citing

Referencing style

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait