Finding academic journals
academic journalsbooksConference proceedings journal articles using databasespatents Standards 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Civil Engineering 

Last update: Oct 07th, 2009 URL: http://uow.libguides.com/civilengineeering  Print Guide  RSS Updates

academic journals             Print Page
  
 

What is a journal?

Journals are published at regular intervals under the same title. They contain articles relating to a specific subject area.

Academic journals are the most relevant for research purposes. Articles in academic journals are usually refereed (also called peer reviewed).

If you are unsure whether a publication is a journal, check to see if it has a volume and/or issue number.

 
 

How do I find journals?

Search Library databases to find journal articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, and research reports. Databases can be searched by keyword, author or journal title.

You can also find print and electronic journals by browsing our journal titles, or using a journal title search in the catalogue

 

Understanding journal types

Journals may also be called serials, periodicals or magazines. There are three basic types of journals:

* academic / refereed journals are the most relevant for research purposes

* trade journals provide industry or single topic information

* popular journals are useful for study in areas of current affairs and popular culture

Academic journals

Trade journals

Popular journals

Refereed Generally not refereed but may contain individual refereed articles Not refereed
Specialised audience Industry or topic based Wide audience
Reports on original research Includes case studies and industry news Broad content focusing on current events and news
Often includes review articles Short articles Short articles
Uses technical language Uses jargon from the industry / profession Non technical, often simple language
Includes author's affiliation Authors details may be included May not include an author
Includes abstracts May include a short abstract No abstracts
Includes many references Usually only 3-4 references No references
Advertising usually restricted to an industry / profession Includes extensive advertising

 

 
 

Why would I use a journal?

Journals are a source of current information and a good way to keep up to date with research and developments in your subject area. They contain information that may never published in books.

 

Refereed journals

 To verify a journal is refereed search the ULRICH'S Periodical Directory database.

Some databases such as ProQuest and Expanded Academic ASAP allow you to limit your search results to academic / refereed journals.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait