Searching the web
Developed by Commoncraft and available from youtube

Loading Video Clip...
What's the difference?
| Library databases | |
| University focus | Useful results hidden in a jungle |
| Target journal articles | Everything and anything! |
| Better results in less pages | Results in 1000s of pages |
| Fulltext scholarly articles |
May need to pay for scholarly articles $$$ |
| Refines your search by subject area, date and lots more! | Fewer limits available |
| UOW quota free | Runs down your quota |
Online resources
Government departments
- Boards of Studies New South Wales
Access all NSW syllabi online as well as other relevant curriculum information. - New South Wales Department of Education and Training
Learning and teaching learning areas and subjects for Yrs K-12 - Commonwealth Department of Education, Science and Training
Australian Internet resources for science
- Australian Academy of Science
This Academy aims to promote science through a range of activities. Education and public awareness is one of its program areas and this link goes directly to that section of the site. - National Environmental Education Network
- Australian Maps
Australian Bureau of Meteorology - Australian Science Teacher's Association
- Education Network of Australia (EdNA) resources for science, for using ICT in the classroom, for technology and etc.
- INFOTERRA Australia
A guide to Australian Environmental Resources. Organised by themes (eg. atmosphere, biodiversity etc) and resources (directories, education etc.) - The Lab - ABC's Gateway to Online Science
This site is produced by the Australian Broadcasting Corporation and provides links to a number of science issues - including current findings and so on. - Marine Environment Protection
This site is part of the Australian Maritime Safety Authority's web site. Includes information and educational material about such topics as oil spills. - Questacon: Hands-On Science
The National Science and Technology Centre in Canberra hosts this site. It includes a useful section for science teachers which provides information about programs, resources and more. - Technology Education Federation of Australia
On this site you can find a wide variety of teaching resources and useful information related to Technology Education.
International Internet resources for science
- BBC Science Online [UK]
This gateway is hosted by the British Broadcasting Corporation and provides links to an extensive range of science and technology topics. - The JASON Project [US]
Founded by Dr Robert Ballard, the JASON project takes scientific discoveries and exploration into classrooms. - Science Education Gateway [US}
This large gateway includes a section for educators. - Skeletons Project [US]
The e-Skeletons Project enables you to view the bones of a human, gorilla, and baboon and gather information about them
Search engines and directories
Search engines create databases using computer programs called 'spiders', 'robots' or 'crawlers' that trawl the web and other Internet sites and return results to the database.
Try these first:
Remember to evaluate all information.
- EduSearch.com.au
- Google Scholar
- Infomine: Scholarly Internet Resource Collection
- Intute
Intute provides access to a searchable catalogue of Internet sites and resources covering the health and life sciences. - Other search engines and directories
Directories organise Internet resources by subject. The information provided in directories is created, arranged and maintained by people rather than machines.
- Academic Info - Science
- Awesome Library - Science
- Education World - Science
- WWW Virtual Library: Science
UOW sites
Google scholar
(search results open in a new window)
Beyond Google
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait