Evaluating websites
Evaluate all information found on the internet as anyone can publish on any topic.
Searching the web
What's the difference?
| Library databases | |
| University focus | Useful results hidden in a jungle |
| Target journal articles | Everything and anything! |
| Better results in less pages | Results in 1000s of pages |
| Fulltext scholarly articles |
May need to pay for scholarly articles $$$ |
| Refines your search by subject area, date and lots more! | Fewer limits available |
| UOW quota free | Runs down your quota |
Online resources
Exceptional Children
- Council for Exceptional Children (U.S.)
The Council for Exceptional Children is the largest international professional organization dedicated to improving educational outcomes for individuals with exceptionalities, students with disabilities, and/or the gifted. - Educator's Reference Desk - Disabilities, Gift Education and Special Education
This resource collection includes Internet sites, educational organizations, and electronic discussion groups on various topics including Disabilities, Gift and Special Education.
Disabilities and Education
- Australian Deafness Directory
The Australian Deafness Directory has been compiled to provide a quick and accurate guide to many organisations and services of and for deaf people and people with a hearing impairment in Australia. - Educator's Reference Desk - Disabilities, Gift Education and Special Education
This resource collection includes Internet sites, educational organizations, and electronic discussion groups on various topics including Disabilities, Gift and Special Education. - ERIC
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) Network is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education and provides access to a huge collection of education material. The ERIC Clearinghouses collect literature on and provide a variety of services and resources in specific subject areas - such as this one. - National Center for Learning Disabilities (U.S.)
This site from the US includes resource information, research news, information and tips on learning disabilities and more. - Special Education Resources on the Internet
This extensive set of links is organised into topic areas such as general disabilities information, parents and educator's resources, special education discussion groups, special needs and technology and more. - SPELD NSW
A non-profit association of parents and professional persons interested and involved in advancing the education and general wellbeing of children and adults with specific learning difficulties
Giftedness and Education
- Educator's Reference Desk - Disabilities, Gift Education and Special Education
This resource collection includes Internet sites, educational organizations, and electronic discussion groups on various topics including Disabilities, Gift and Special Education. - ERIC
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) Network is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education and provides access to a huge collection of education material. The ERIC Clearinghouses collect literature on and provide a variety of services and resources in specific subject areas - such as this one.
Government departments
- Boards of Studies New South Wales
Disability Action Plan - New South Wales Department of Education and Training
- Commonwealth Department of Education Science and Training
Australian - AEI Online
Australian
UOW sites
Google scholar
(search results open in a new window)
Beyond Google
Education
- EduSearch.com.au
- Awesome Library - Special Education
- Education World - Special Education
- Education Planet
- Yahoo! Education: K-12: Gifted Youth
Further resources
- Google Scholar
- Infomine: Scholarly Internet Resource Collection
- Scirus - scientific search engine
- Other search engines and directories
Description
Loading content... please wait






Loading content... please wait