Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Finding Information 

Last update: Jun 05th, 2009 URL: http://uow.libguides.com/findinginformation  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Databases            Print Page
  

Search tips

 
 

What is a database?

A database is a search engine used to find journal articles. No database covers all journals or subject areas completely.

Databases:

  • include other types of resources eg. newspaper articles, conference papers, company information and legal cases
  • can be subject specific eg. Creative Arts students will typically use different databases from Nursing students
  • are searched by topic keywords
  • are regularly updated with new articles

Note: Library databases allow you to access many scholarly resources that are not freely available on the Internet.

 

What's the difference?

Library databases Google
University focus Useful results hidden in a jungle
Target journal articles Everything and anything!
Better results in less pages Results in 1000s of pages
Fulltext scholarly articles
May need to pay for scholarly articles $$$
Refines your search by subject area, date and lots more! Fewer limits available
UOW quota free Runs down your quota
 
 

Which database do I use?

The most relevant databases for each subject area have been identified for you.

Take a look at the Resources for Assignments  and select a subject area.

 

Finding the fulltext

Some databases do not provide the fulltext article.

To locate these articles, search the UOW Library catalogue.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait