MACS120 

Macs120 resources
Last update: Jul 27th, 2009 URL: http://uow.libguides.com/macs120  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Evaluating information            Print Page
  
 

Tips to help evaluate information

Relevance – this will depend on your information need. When evaluating information, consider; 

  • Purpose and coverage - does the information fulfil your information need and cover what you need to know.
  • Currency and timeliness - is the information current or out-of-date for your topic

Reliability – Consider the following criteria to establish how reliable information may be;

  • Authority or authorship
  • Objectivity - is there bias?
  • Accuracy – is the information accurate and complete?

Read the Evalutating Information online tutorial for further explanation and examples.

 

Get started with your own search strategy

What is a search strategy? Click here [PDF 118 KB]

Use the search strategy worksheet to create your own plan for searching databases and the Library's catalogue

Click here and start working on your own search strategy

 
 

Understanding journal types

Journals may also be called serials, periodicals or magazines. There are three basic types of journals:

* academic / refereed journals are the most relevant for research purposes

* trade journals provide industry or single topic information

* popular journals are useful for study in areas of current affairs and popular culture

Academic journals

Trade journals

Popular journals

Refereed Generally not refereed but may contain individual refereed articles Not refereed
Specialised audience Industry or topic based Wide audience
Reports on original research Includes case studies and industry news Broad content focusing on current events and news
Often includes review articles Short articles Short articles
Uses technical language Uses jargon from the industry / profession Non technical, often simple language
Includes author's affiliation Authors details may be included May not include an author
Includes abstracts May include a short abstract No abstracts
Includes many references Usually only 3-4 references No references
Advertising usually restricted to an industry / profession Includes extensive advertising

 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait