This is the "Journals & databases" page of the "Nursing & Midwifery" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Finding academic journals
academic journalsbooksDrugs & alcohol resources Evidence-based health resources Indigenous health resources journal articles using databasesMental health resources Rural health resources Statistics on health 

Admin Sign In 

Nursing & Midwifery  Tags: nmih205  

Last update: Feb 08th, 2010 URL: http://uow.libguides.com/nursingandmidwifery  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Journals & databases            Print Page
  

Search tips

 

Using search tips in Proquest

  • Identify keywords  
  • Combine keywords  
  • Truncation  
  • Choose a database  
  • Phrase search  
  • Proximity search  
 
 

Article Finder

Use Article Finder to search across multiple databases

Advanced subject search allows you to search multiple databases more specifically related to your area of study. Discover which databases have content relevant to your search

Search individual databases to find journal articles

  • CINAHL  
    The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, is a key resource for nursing and allied health topics. International. Index. 1981 +
  • Health Sciences  
    Journals published by SAGE Publishing, covering nursing and allied health issues. International. Fulltext. Dates vary
  • Joanna Briggs Institute  
    Covers nursing, midwifery, medicine and allied health, including evidence based resources by the Joanna Briggs Institute, e.g. systematic reviews and best practice information sheets. Fulltext. Dates vary
  • ProQuest Central  
    Coverage in a broad range of subject areas. Includes several databases which may be searched either individually or in combinations. International. Fulltext. Dates vary.
  • Wiley InterScience  
    Journals published by Wiley, with coverage in science and technology, life and behavioural sciences, business and finance. International. Dates vary
 

Can't I just google?

Find out why using a variety of sources, including academic in your assignments will earn you marks!

Included with permission from Fiona Salisbury, LaTrobe University Library
Please note some services and systems referred to are unique to LaTrobe's library.
Ask us for similar services and resources at UOW Library.

 

What's the difference?

Library databases Google
University focus Useful results hidden in a jungle
Target journal articles Everything and anything!
Better results in less pages Results in 1000s of pages
Fulltext scholarly articles
May need to pay for scholarly articles $$$
Refines your search by subject area, date and lots more! Fewer limits available
UOW quota free Runs down your quota
 
 

Finding the fulltext

Some databases do not provide the fulltext article.

To locate these articles, search the UOW Library catalogue.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait