Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

Referencing: Other sources

Footnotes

36. G Kozicz, `Architecture of the empty shells of Nyar ma' in Discoveries in Western Tibet and the western Himalayas: essays on history, literature, archaeology and art: PIATS 2003, Tibetan studies, proceedings of the tenth seminar of the International Association for Tibetan Studies, Oxford, 2003, p. 42. 

Bibliography

Kozicz, G, `Architecture of the empty shells of Nyar ma' in Discoveries in Western Tibet and the western Himalayas: essays on history, literature, archaeology and art: PIATS 2003, Tibetan studies, proceedings of the tenth seminar of the International Association for Tibetan Studies, Oxford, 2003, pp. 41-54.    

Footnotes

15. A Gardner, Lecture 2: Settled peoples and nomads: Mesopotamia and Egypt [lecture notes], HIS1MSU, La Trobe University, 2009,  <http://webct.latrobe.edu.au/webct/urw/lc9140001.tp0>, viewed 19 January 2011. 

Bibliography

Gardner, A, Lecture 2: Settled peoples and nomads: Mesopotamia and Egypt [lecture notes], HIS1MSU, La Trobe University, 2009 <http://webct.latrobe.edu.au/webct/urw/lc9140001.tp0>, viewed 19 January 2011.

Notes

Include:

Lecturers name, Lecture title or Week of presentation [type of material i.e. PowerPoint slides], Subject code/name, University name, date of presentation, URL, viewed date.

If the lecturer did not provide a title on the notes, use the subject code of the lecture.

Use for lecture notes, course notes and any other print material provided by lecturers during a lecture.

Footnotes

23. W Allen, dir, Annie Hall, DVD, MGM Home Entertainment, Santa Monica, CA, 2000.

24. Paris Theatre Company, L'Avare de Molière, DVD, Autrefois Productions, Paris, France, 2007.
 

Bibliography

Allen, W, dir, Annie Hall, DVD, MGM Home Entertainment, Santa Monica, CA, 2000

Paris Theatre Company, L'Avare de Molière, DVD, Autrefois Productions, Paris, France, 2007.    

Notes

Director, Name of the film (in italics), format, distributor, place, year of release.

Individual scenes can be treated as chapters and precede the title of the production.

Notes

You need to identify artworks and other visual images clearly in your writing. The footnote reference must include the artist, the title, the year(s) of creation, and where the artwork is currently located. Museum pieces frequently have inventory numbers which should be included if you know them.

Note that the date in footnotes for images comes after the title as it is part of the information about the 'creation' of the work, not about the institution that houses it.

F Boucher, i, 1740, Stockholm National Gallery.

Pantheon, 118–125 A D, Rome.

Victoria State Rivers and Water Supply Commission Photographer, Family Group of Aborigines, ca. 1900–ca. 1940, State Library of Victoria, Melbourne.

You should reproduce images in appendices at the end of your work. Label images as 'Fig. 1' etc. and use these in parentheses in the text when referring to an artwork. For example: 'The group of Aborigines photographed by the Victoria State Rivers and Water Supply Commission photographer (Fig. 34) differ from previous groups because they are wearing European dress.'

IMAGE FROM A BOOK
Footnotes

14. G Bellini, `San Giobbe Altarpiece', 1478, Galleria dell'Accademia, Venice, in GA Johnson, Renaissance art: a very short introduction Oxford University Press, Oxford, 2005, p. 18. 

Bibliography

Bellini, G, ` San Giobbe Altarpiece', 1478, in GA Johnson, Renaissance art: a very short introduction,  Oxford University Press, Oxford, 2005, p. 18.

Notes

In the Footnote include:

Artist, `Title of art work', year(s) of creation, Name of Museum or Gallery, in Author or Editor, Book title (in italics), Publisher, Place of Publication, Year of publication, page numbers.

In the Bibliography include:

Artist, `Title of art work', year(s) of creation, in  Author or Editor,  Book title (in italics), Publisher, Place of Publication, Year of publication, page number.

IMAGE FROM A DATABASE
Footnotes

74. S Botticelli, Birth of Venus. c. 1482, Galleria degli Uffizi, Florence, <http://www.artsor.org >, viewed 13 April 2011.

Bibliography

Botticelli, S.  Birth of Venus. c. 1482. ARTstor. 3 Jan. 2008, <http://www. artsor.org>, viewed 13 April 2011.

 

IMAGE FROM A WEBPAGE
Footnotes

25. T Emin, T My Bed, 1998, Saatchi Gallery, 2011, <http://www.saatchi-gallery.co.uk/artists/tracey_emin.htm>, viewed 13 April, 2011. 

Bibliography

Emin, T, My Bed, 1998, Saatchi Gallery, 2011, <http://www.saatchi-gallery.co.uk/artists/tracey_emin.htm>, viewed 13 April, 2011.

Notes

Try to include the following:

Artist, Title of art work (in italics), year(s) of creation, Name and place of the sponsor/publisher of the source, Year (the date the site was last updated), URL, viewed Day Month Year.

If there is no named author, put the image title first.

Footnotes

45. D. Fields, The fight for black rights, Bookmarks Australia, Sydney South, NSW, 1995.

Bibliography

Fields, D, The fight for black rights, Bookmarks Australia, Sydney South, NSW, 1995.

Notes

Pamphlets are to be treated like books. Include as much information as possible to identify the publication.

Footnotes

32. S Shickle, Interview with the author, 8 July 2010.

Notes

Include: Initials Surname, type of communication,  day month year.

Personal communications can be referred to in a footnote but are not usually included in the Bibliography.

Personal communications include letters, emails, interviews etc. Be sure to get permission from the person being cited before you use their details.

Footnotes

42. `Proving evolution: Richard Dawkins', Radio National Breakfast, podcast, ABC Radio National, 4 March 2010, <http://www.abc.net.au/rn/breakfast/stories/2010/2834811.htm>, viewed 6 March 2010.

Bibliography

`Proving evolution: Richard Dawkins', Radio National Breakfast, podcast, ABC Radio National, 4 March 2010, <http://www.abc.net.au/rn/breakfast/stories/2010/2834811.htm>, viewed 6 March 2010.

Notes

Include:

Title of the program, Title of the series (in italics), format (i.e. podcast), Publisher, Date of presentation/broadcast, URL, viewed date. 

Footnotes

26. `Voice in the wilderness: R. G. Collingwood', The Philosophers Zone, radio program,  ABC Radio National, Australia, April 28 2009.

Bibliography

`Voice in the wilderness: R. G. Collingwood', The Philosophers Zone, radio program,  ABC Radio National, Australia, April 28 2009.

Notes

Include:

Title of the program, Title of the series (in italics), format (i.e. radio program), Publisher, Place, Broadcast date.

Footnotes

43. The Endnote Team, `Endnote', X2 edn, Thomson Scientific, Carlsbad, CA, 2008, p. 22.

Bibliography

The Endnote Team, `EndNote', X2 edn, Thomson Scientific, Carlsbad, CA, 2008.

Footnotes

26. `The war within', Four Corners, television program, Australian Broadcasting Corporation, Australia, 30 March 2009.

Bibliography

`The war within', Four Corners, television program, Australian Broadcasting Corporation, Australia, 30 March 2009.

Notes

Include:

Title of the program, Title of the series (in italics), format (i.e. television program), Publisher, Place, Day, Month and Year of broadcast date.

Footnotes

44. T Kalivas, `Recipes for Cypriot tradition: Greek-Cypriot immigrants' domestic food cultures in Melbourne c. 1947-2003 ', Ph. D. thesis, La Trobe University, 2007.

Bibliography

Kalivas, T, `Recipes for Cypriot tradition: Greek-Cypriot immigrants' domestic food cultures in Melbourne c.1947-2003 ', Ph. D. thesis, La Trobe University, 2007.

Notes

A thesis is an unpublished work so use single quotation marks around the title and do not italicise

Loading

UOW Library  |  Subject readings  |  A-Z journals  |  A-Z databases  |  Copyright  |  Research Online

Borrowing information | Document Delivery | Connect to wireless | Print, copy & scan

Ask us  |  Tell us