Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

UOW History, Facts & Figures: UOW History

UOW History

Online Exhibitions

NEW! View UOW history through the Archives permanent exhibitions

Where can I find the history of UOW?

The University traces its origins back to 1951, when the Wollongong Division of the University of New South Wales was created. In 1963 the Wollongong University College (WUC) was officially established. When the College achieved its independence from UNSW, in 1975 it became the University of Wollongong.

The Wollongong Institute of Education (WIE), previously the Wollongong Teachers' College (WTC), was amalgamated with the University of Wollongong in 1982.

In 1993 the University established the first of its satellite sites - the Graham Park Campus at Berry. This was the predecessor to the Shoalhaven Campus which officially opened in West Nowra in 2000. Other satellite locations established over the years included Batemans Bay, Bega, Moss Vale, Loftus and also Sydney.

In 1993 the University also opened its first campus in Dubai in the United Arab Emirates.

On the Web:

     Individual Schools, Units & Clubs etc

In the Library/Archives:

  • A Place for Art: The UOW Art Collection held at 709.94/122 (also available online)
  • Regional Icon, Global Achiever: A History of the University of Wollongong 1951-2011 held at 378.9446/11
  • University of Wollongong: An Illustrated history 1951-1991 held at 378.9446/4 (also available online)
  • Development of the University of Wollongong 1973-1981 held at 378.944/Woll/8
  • 25 years: A History of the Department of Chemistry at the University of Wollongong, 1975-2000 held at 378.944/Woll/13
  • Rattle them Backboards: 50 years of University Hockey at Wollongong held at 796.355099446/1
  • From Stone Motherless Last: A Half-century of University Cricket at Wollongong held at 796.35862/1 
  • Those Magnificent Men: A Proud History 1962- (University Rugby Club) held at 796.3330994/1

     Other Books containing UOW History 

  • UNSW a Portrait: The University of New South Wales 1949-1999 (includes history of Wollongong University College) held at 378.9441/5
  • Counting Australia in: The people, organisations and institutions of Australian mathematics (includes history of UOW Dep't of Mathematics) held at 510.094/1

The Archives also holds several historical timelines produced by different units over the years - these are available from the Archivist on request

History of University Day

‘University Day’ between 1975-1988

In 1975 ‘University Year’ celebrated the official establishment of ‘UOW’ by holding various events throughout that year. University Council subsequently received a report from the University Year Committee recommending the continued promotion of the University’s bond with the community through activities such as a public lecture series and a ‘University Day'.  It was proposed that an occasional address should be given by a notable speaker, on a topic usually of current concern to tertiary education.

In 1976 it was proclaimed that University Day would be held on the second Friday in August each year (in anniversary of the first meeting of the Chancellor's Council), and on that day the annual lecture would be presented. The first University Day was held on 13 August that year.

In August 1985 University Day celebrations were combined with a special Graduation Ceremony to celebrate the 10 year anniversary of the establishment of UOW. The occasional address that year was given by Sir Roden Cutler.

In 1987 the University Day ceremony was augmented by the presentation of the inaugural Ethel Hayton Trophy to academic units or individual staff for notable activity within the community. Other awards, such as 25 Year service awards, teaching and student awards were also featured as part of the ceremony over subsequent years.

No formal ceremony was held in 1988. In June of that year University Council endorsed a proposal to change the date and format of University Day, with the aim of increasing campus community awareness of the event and its significance.

‘University Day’ between 1989-1997

From 1989 University Day was held on the Monday closest to 8 May, to commemorate the formal constitution of the Wollongong University College as a college of the University of New South Wales on 8 May 1961. The new format consisted of an evening program of events rather than a single public lecture. Visiting speakers who gave the University Day address over this period included Sir Michael Somare, Fred Hollows, Barry Jones, Bob Carr and Noel Pearson.

The last official 'University Day' ceremony was held in 1997.

Postscript: June 1998 saw the first ‘Presentation of Staff Awards’ evening ceremony, which in 2000 became the ‘Vice Chancellor’s Staff Awards’, and from 2002 the ‘Vice Chancellor’s Awards’.

View University Day ceremony booklets from over the years on the Corporate Publications Archive

WTC/WIE History

Key Dates

The Wollongong Teachers' College 1962-1974 (WTC), which later became the Wollongong Institute of Education 1974-1982 (WIE), was amalgamated with the University of Wollongong in 1982.

The College/Institute was located on Northfields Avenue at the foot of Mount Keira, at what is now the western end of the present University campus.

Following amalgamation, the University created an Institute of Advanced Education sector, comprising a new School of Education and several other units.

The Faculty of Education was formed in 1984 from the merger of the School and UOW's own long established Department of Education (which had been based within the Faculty of Social Sciences).

Where can I find the history of WTC/WIE?

Historical Records and Images from the UOW Archives

The University Archives holds a range of WTC/WIE historical information and images, as well a small selection of memorabilia from the Education Alumni.

Discover our digitised collections available online:

Other Sources

WTC Images and Records from other Libraries and Archives

50th Anniversary!

50th Year Celebrations for the Founding of the College!

An Exhibition of images and memorabilia from the Archives

In conjunction with the Education Alumni 50th anniversary reunion for the College’s first students, which was held over the October 2012 long weekend, the University Archives mounted an exhibition in the University Library's Panizzi Gallery showcasing the early history of the College, its students, staff and campus.

A permanent Online Exhibition was also created, to tell more of the College's story.

View our Online Exhibition

A copy of the anniversary book Wollongong Teachers' College pioneers 1962-63 is available in the Archives (370.7119446/1)

Annual Reports

How do I find other UOW related reports?

Use the Library's Classic Catalogue, try searches such as:

Keyword search> wollongong and university and report

Subject search> university of wollongong

Author search> university of wollongong

Annual Reports

1. UOW Annual Report

On the Web:

In the Library:

2. UOW Research Report/Profiles

On the Web:

In the Library:

3. UOW Strategic Plan

On the Web:

In the Library:

 4. ITC (Illawarra Technology Corporation) Annual Report

On the Web:

 In the Library:

5. UOW Library Annual Report

On the Web:

In the Library:

6.  UOW PULSE Annual Report 

Note: Formerly known as Unicentre (1997 - 2016) Previous title: University Union

On the Web:

 In the Library:

7. URAC (University Recreation & Aquatic Centre) Annual Report

On the Web:

In the Library:

8. EED (Employment, Equity & Diversity) Unit Annual Report

On the Web:

In the Library:

  • Hardcopies held in Archives Collection. Contact Archives staff for details

9. Annual reports of other units

On the Web:

In the Library:

  • Various hardcopy reports held in Archives Collection. Contact Archives staff for details

Handbooks, Grad & Ceremonial Books

Online Exhibitions

NEW! View UOW history through the Archives permanent exhibitions

Handbooks/Calendars

On the Web:

In the Library:

  • 1975+ held in Archives Collection at 378.94405/WOLL/1
  • Pre- 1975 WUC/ UNSW Calendars (with some gaps) held in Archives collection
  • 1963- 1984 Wollongong Teachers' College/ Wollongong Institute of Education Calendar held in Archives Collection

Graduation Booklets

On the Web:

In the Library:

  • UOW and WUC graduation booklets held in Archives Collection
  • Wollongong Teachers' College/Wollongong Institute of Education graduation booklets held in Archives Collection

University Day and Vice-Chancellors' Awards Booklets

On the Web:

In the Library:

  • University Day and Vice-Chancellor's Awards ceremonies booklets held in Archives Collection

Alumni Book of Honoraries

The Archives is the custodian for the UOW Alumni Honorary Chapter's 'Book of Honoraries' commemorative volume containing the inscribed names of all past University fellows, emeritus professors and honorary graduates.

The Chapter have new name entries added by a calligrapher each year and display the Book during their annual dinner and other events.

Visitors are welcome to contact the Archives on 4221 3543 to confirm the Book's current availability and arrange a time during office hours to view the volume in the Archives Reading Room.

View the Media Release from the 2011 official presentation of the Book.

View the lists of all past Honorary Graduates provided on the Honorary Chapter's webpage.

Other Ceremonial Booklets

Media Releases & Newsletters

Looking for UOW newsletters?

Browse UOW Newsletters

'Connect: UOW' (previously Campus News)

Campus News Magazine (now 'Connect: UOW' as of 2012)

Search Tip for UOW Newsletters

To search all years of Campus News you need to use two separate searches:

  1. for articles published between 1975 to 2009 either use the Campus search engine OR use Google and limit to the domain name: uow.edu.au
  2. for articles published from 2010 onwards use Google and limit to the domain name: uow.realviewtechnologies.com

Where can I find student newsletters?

Note: In the call number details below ARC prefix= located in Archives collection, Ground Level. For other hardcopy items check the Library's Classic Catalogue for exact location details.

Undergraduate Student Newsletter (Tertangala)

On the Web:

In the Library:

  • 1962+ (with some gaps) held in Archives collection at 378.94405/Woll/25
  • Small range of other undergraduate publications also held in Archives (eg. Student Diaries). Contact Archives for Details

Postgraduate Student Newsletter

On the Web:

WUPA web site> Rhizome

In the Library:

  • Small range of postgraduate publications held in Archives Collection. Contact Archives for detail.

Looking for UOW News and Media Releases?

Search UOW news and media releases

Browse UOW news and media releases

UOW Media Releases

  • 2001+ on UOW web site> News & Media> Media Releases
  • Earlier years held in hardcopy in Archives Collection. Contact Arcihvist for details

UOW News Items

Statistics

Search Tips

Searching for books or reports with comparative data on Wollongong and other universities?

Try searching the Library's Classic Catalogue for terms such as:

Keyword search> higher education and australia and statistics

Keyword search> universities and australia and statistics

Keyword search> graduate* and employment and australia

Statistics Search Tip

Searching for newspaper or journal articles which mention statistics?

The word 'statistics' may not always be mentioned in the article text. Try searching for these related terms as well (statistic* or data or number* or figure* or trend*)

A search tip before you begin!

Before you begin your search for statistics consider:

Are statistics likely to be collected on your topic and at the level of detail you need?
If so ...

  • Who might collect this type of data?
  • Where might this data be available?
  • What headings might this data be listed under (e.g. statistics on international students might be listed under overseas enrolments)

1. Statistics - On the Web

UOW data:

Recent and older UOW data from the Department of Higher Education:

  • Higher Education Data Cube (uCube) table builder for 2001+ (to access use the link in the right hand menu on the Department of Higher Education Publications webpage) 
    Tip: The default is Citizenship Category - so first drag this variable out of the 'Rows' axis at the bottom of the screen. Now choose a category from the Selected Cube dropdown menu at the left of the screen (eg. 'Completions'), drag the 'State - Institution' variable into the Column axis, open the submenu and unselect 'All Members' and then reselect 'University of Wollongong' to view just UOW data. Then choose your desired criteria from the list of other variables. For example drag both the 'Year' and 'Gender' variables into the Columns axis and then the 'Field of Education' variable into the Rows axis to create a table showing UOW male/female completions for different subject disciplines over the last decade.
  • Higher Education Statistics Publications for 2004+ 
    Tip! Look for the heading 'Full Year - Tables' - these will give you a larger range of tables than the 'First Half Year - Tables". Click on the .XLS file version option (rather than the .PDF file), open a relevant spreadsheet category (eg. 'All Students') and look through the list of available table headings for the phrase 'by higher education provider' - these will give you data for individual institutions ie. including UOW
  • Higher Education Statistics Publications for 1997-2003 are available from the archived version of the Department's old website available via the Internet Archive 
  • Higher Education Statistics Publications pre 1997 - use the hardcopy publications held within the Library (see note below)

Useful Data from Other Organisations:

Higher education sector wide statistics:

  • ABS website> Themes> Education & Training Statistics (note: the Australian Bureau of Statistics does not provide data at an individual institution level)

2. Statistics - Within the Library

In the Library:

In the Journal Collection (accessible on Level 2)

  • Good Universities Guide (current year only) held at S 378.94/103
  • Selected Higher Education Statistics (hard copy versions of the publications on the Department of Education website, including older volumes not available online):

- Student Statistics (1995+) held at S 378.94/63

- Selected Higher Education Statistics (1987- 1994) held at S 378.94/63

- Selected University Statistics (1974- 1986) held at S 378.94/41

- Staff Statistics (1995+) held at S 378.94/142

- Finance and Research Expenditure Statistics (1992+) held at S 378.94/129 and S 378.94/144

In the Archives Collection

Newspaper Articles

Specific Database Tips

For helpful screen shot examples of searching Proquest and Factiva see the How to find UOW related articles in newspaper databases guide [PDF]

Statistics Search Tip

Searching for newspaper or journal articles which mention statistics?

The word 'statistics' may not always be mentioned in the article text. Try searching for these related terms as well (statistic* or data or number* or figure* or trend*)

Recent Newspaper Articles

3. Found a great reference but it's not fulltext?

Some databases don't provide the fulltext of an item, only the citation and an abstract (summary) of its contents. This is especially common with older references. Check what type of publication it is (this should be mentioned in the database record) then:

If it's a journal/magazine/newspaper article:

Use the Title search in the A-Z Journal List directory (or alternatively the Journal Title search in the Library Catalogue) to look up the name of the journal the article is published in. eg. Australian Historical Studies. This will show if the Library holds that journal for the relevant year either fulltext in another database or in print (hard copy) in the Journals Collection (Level 2).

and

If it's a book chapter or conference paper:

Use the Title search in the Library Catalogue and/or the Keywords search option to look up the name of the book/conference the chapter/paper is published in. This will show if the Library holds it in hard copy.

What about older newspaper articles?

You can browse boxes of UOW related news clippings held in the Archives Collection from 1950s+ (note these clippings are filed by year/date and not by subject). Contact the Archivist to arrange access.

Journal Articles

Some General Advice

You may not find many journal articles specifically about UOW. Be prepared to broaden your search to look for articles discussing Australian universities and the higher education sector in general

If searching for articles about UOW and particular subject disciplines (eg. information technology) also try other subject specific Databases

Search Tip

Change dropdown menus within fulltext databases to broaden your search from words appearing only in headline/title/ abstract to words anywhere within full article.

Note however this broader search will also find items written by UOW authors which are not necessarily about UOW.

Statistics Search Tip

Searching for newspaper or journal articles which mention statistics?

The word 'statistics' may not always be mentioned in the article text. Try searching for these related terms as well (statistic* or data or number* or figure* or trend*)

1. How do I find journal articles about UOW?

Try these Australian databases first:

Note: A useful search tip if you're using any of the 'Informit software' databases (look for the logo at the top left of the screen):
In your first search box type in: wollongong %2 uni*  (this looks for wollongong within 2 words of either university or uni ) and also tick the box to "Also Search Fulltext of Articles" where available.

2. What about articles about UOW published overseas?

Try these international databases:

3. Found a great reference but it's not fulltext?

Some databases don't provide the fulltext of an item, only the citation and an abstract (summary) of its contents. This is especially common with older references. Check what type of publication it is (this should be mentioned in the database record) then:

If it's a journal/magazine/newspaper article:

Use the Title search in the A-Z Journal List directory (or alternatively the Journal Title search in the Library Catalogue) to look up the name of the journal the article is published in. eg. Australian Historical Studies. This will show if the Library holds that journal for the relevant year either fulltext in another database or in print (hard copy) in the Journals Collection (Level 2).

and

If it's a book chapter or conference paper:

Use the Title search in the Library Catalogue and/or the Keywords search option to look up the name of the book/conference the chapter/paper is published in. This will show if the Library holds it in hard copy.

Photographs & Recordings

Online Exhibitions

NEW! View UOW history through the Archives permanent exhibitions

Where can I find photographs and other images of UOW?

On the Web:

In the Archives:

Where can I find audio and film recordings of UOW?

On the Web:

In the Archives:

UOW Press & UOW Journals

Where can I find details of the books UOW has published over the years?

UOW published book titles

History of UOW Press

Five Islands Press

Where can I find details of the journals UOW has published over the years?

Several Faculties/Schools/Units across the University currently publish or have published journals and/or ejournals.

UOW Website Search Tips

Browsing the UOW website

Useful starting pages on the UOW website:

For finding clubs and societies:

What's the best way to search the UOW website?

Use  the UOW Advanced site search engine:

1. Go to UOW Advanced Site Search

2. Type in your keywords or phrases in the Search box (keep your search simple!) eg. childcare (Search tip: Truncation symbol to search for word plurals is a * symbol. eg. child*

4. Use the Domain Name box to limit to specific sections of the UOW website (eg. type in: media.uow.edu.au)

5. Click on Search

Alternatively try a Google search - see tips below

Can I search the UOW website using Google?

Yes you can limit a Google advanced search to just the UOW website. This is a useful option if you are trying to do more complex types of searches. (note: you may get different results compared to the UOW search engine):

1. Go to Google Advanced Search

2. Type in your keywords or phrases in the Search box eg. childcare OR "child Care" (Search tip: No truncation symbol required to search for word plurals)

3. Type in the Search with a Site/Domain box the URL uow.edu.au

4. Click on the Google search button

This will limit search results to only those with UOW in their web address

Other Tips

Specific Guides to Help You

In addition to the quick links and search tips available in this webguide, make use of these extra guides to help you with your searches.

1. For practical advice on where and how to start ...

 

See the guide for 2011 Soc231 students UOW Research Project: Pathways Advice & Developing Your Search Strategy [pdf guide]

and

2. For database search examples/screen shots of what to do .... 

 

How to Find UOW Related Articles in Newspaper Databases [pdf guide]

Who to Contact

For further help/search advice:

  • Check with library staff at your respective campus library - see the Ask A Librarian page for contact details.

To access hardcopy items in the UOW Archives (Wollongong Campus):

  • You'll need to make an appointment with the UOW Archivist (ph: 4221 3543). Before you talk with the Archivist you'll need to have some idea of the type of records you want to look at (eg. UOW Media Releases) - check the tips in this guide.

Some Advice on Information Sources About UOW

Who collects and/or publishes information about UOW and other universities?

Where is this information available?

How do I reference secondary and primary sources?

Check the advice and examples in the UOW Referencing and Citing guide

UOW Library  |  Subject readings  |  A-Z journals  |  A-Z databases  |  Copyright  |  Research Online

Borrowing information | Document Delivery | Print, copy & scan

Ask Us  |  Tell Us