Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

Discover UOW libraries: UOW Wollongong

Opening hours, contact details, maps and related information for all UOW libraries
Recess (20 Nov - 26 Nov 2017)

Mon - Fri: 8:30am - 6pm
Sat: 10am - 5pm
Sun: 10am - 5pm

Summer session 2017/2018 (27 Nov 2017 – 18 Feb 2018)

Mon - Fri: 8:30am - 6pm
Sat: 10am - 5pm
Sun: 10am - 5pm
Closed for Christmas break (Mon 25 Dec 2017 – Sun 31st Dec 2017)

Extended opening hours for study recess, exams and recess period (Mon 29 Jan – Sun 18 Feb):
Mon - Fri: 8:30am - 8pm
Sat: 10am - 8pm
Sun: 10am - 8pm

 

Opening hours

Autumn session (27 Feb - 25 Jun 2017)

Mon - Fri: 8am - 10pm
Sat: 10am - 8pm
Sun: 10am - 8pm
Extended opening hours for exams – Saturdays and Sundays (between 27 May and 18 June): 10am - 10pm

Mid-year recess (26 Jun - 23 Jul 2017)

Mon - Fri: 8am - 10pm
Sat: 10am - 8pm
Sun: 10am - 8pm

Spring session (24 Jul - 19 Nov 2017)

Mon - Fri: 8am - 10pm
Sat: 10am - 8pm
Sun: 10am - 8pm
Extended opening hours for exams on Saturdays and Sundays (between 21 October and 12 November): 10am - 10pm

Public holiday hours

Easter - Fri 14, Sat 15, Sun 16 April: closed
Mon 17 April: 10am - 8pm

ANZAC Day - Tue 25 April: 10am - 8pm

Queen's Birthday - Monday 12 June: 10am - 10pm

Labour Day - Monday 2 October: 10am - 8pm

New Year's Day - Mon 1st Jan: 10am - 5pm

Australia Day - Fri 26 Jan: 10am - 5pm

Loading

Contact information

General enquiries
  +61 2 4221 3545
  uow-library@uow.edu.au

Service desk
  +61 2 4221 3548
  uow-library@uow.edu.au

Short Loans / Subject readings
  +61 2 4221 3331
  subject-readings@uow.edu.au


  Our staff directory

  Liaison librarians

  Innovation Campus

Spaces

Spaces are available throughout the Library for reading, quiet study and group work.

We have over 400 computers across all three floors and South Wing. Most desks are powered so you can bring your own devices and keep them charged.

Laptops can also be borrowed from the IT service desk, Building 17, level 1 and from the Curriculum Resources Centre (Building 22).

Be respectful, keep noise to a minimum and comply with the IT acceptable use policy wherever you are in the library.

You can eat and drink here but eat hot food outside and be careful around computers and other electrical equipment.

Dispose of rubbish thoughtfully and report accidental spills to our service desk staff on the ground floor ASAP.

Water fountains are on level 1 and level 2, and in South Wing (level 2, Building 17).

Toilets are available on all floors (disabled toilets are available on the ground floor and level 2)

Spaces for quiet study can be found in these areas:

  • law library, ground floor
  • all of level 1
  • outside computer labs 1 and 2 on level 2
  • south wing, building 17, level 2

To be fair to your peers, make sure your mobile is on vibrate or silent and keep any noise to a minimum while in these areas.

Spaces for group work can be found in these areas:

  • all floors – areas with large group work tables and informal group work spaces
  • ground floor, level 2 and South Wing – group study rooms
  • Shoalhaven Campus Library – group study rooms

Facilities available:

  • ground floor rooms – whiteboards and GS1 and GS2 have projectors
  • level 2 rooms – whiteboards and plasma screens

Rooms kits including whiteboard markers and computer display cables can be borrowed from the loans desk on the ground floor.

If you need a space to meet up and work as a group, book a room.

Computer labs 1 and 2 are located on level 2, Building 16.

These labs are available for general use, when not booked for classes (check the signage outside the door of each room for bookings).

Located on level one, the Academic space is a quiet, comfortable and functional place for our academics to visit.

The room contains four desktop computers, soft furnishings and kitchen amenities.

See our service desk staff on the ground floor for an access code.

The Access room is located on the ground floor, next to our postgraduate space, and contains assistive software and hardware for students registered with Disability Services.

Postgraduate rooms are available on the ground floor and on level 2, Building 17.

They provide quiet, technology enabled spaces for our postgraduates, Honours, Dean's Scholars and Graduate Diploma students. 

See our service desk staff on the ground floor for an access code.

To be fair to your peers, make sure your mobile is on vibrate or silent and keep any noise to a minimum while in these areas.

Located on the ground floor, the Panizzi Room is our premium, bookable location for that special event.

With its state-of-the-art multimedia technologies, controllable lighting and track-mounted art hanging system, the Panizzi Room is sure to make an impression for your next big exhibition or event.

Make a booking request.

The MakerSpace is a place to safely use tools and equipment to explore your creativity and test your technical skills. It's open to all students and staff to walk through and engage with.

  • Learn to use new tech and tools
  • Put your knowledge and skills to practice
  • Meet like-minded makers

For more information, visit our MakerSpace page.

These guidelines apply to all UOW Library facilities, including the Main Library (Building 16), South Wing (Building 17), Curriculum Resource Centre (Building 22) and Shoalhaven Campus Library.

Public use

We are proud of our buildings and facilities and understand you may want to take photos and film inside and outside our libraries. You can take informal photographs and film without requiring formal authorisation so long as you avoid:

  • interfering with the study, research, privacy or safety of our clients.
  • flash photography where possible, as it is disrupting. If in doubt, check with our service desk staff first.
  • photographing and filming our staff or clients without their permission.
  • blocking access to exits, stairways, corridors, doorways or other facilities.
  • using lights, tripods or moving furniture without first checking with our service desk staff.

We reserve the right to withdraw permission to use personal photographic equipment at any time or to restrict permission during peak study periods.

Commercial use

All commercial photography and filming for publication or broadcast must be first authorised by the Communications and Events Cooordinator well in advance of the requested date.

Permission will take into consideration time of year, time of day, and anticipated disruption to clients, staff and facilities. You will be required to obtain consent forms from each person photographed or filmed. Failure to do so could result in legal action by the persons involved.

Research use

Photography and filming of our materials and resources is permitted with limitations.

Contact Archives staff if you wish to photograph or make digital copies of:

  • original records
  • items in the rare book collection
  • items in other archival collections

Depending on the item, flash photography may not be permitted.

Photography may also be permitted for personal research purposes. If you wish to display, publish or make further reproductions of the material, copyright permission may be required.

You will be responsible for obtaining any relevant permission from the copyright owner before material can be photographed. We are unable to provide any specific reproduction services.

Contact

  Communications and Events Coordinator
  +61 2 4221 3284

  UOW Archives
  +61 2 4221 3545

Loading

Find us

University of Wollongong Main Library
Buildings 16-17
Northfields Avenue
Wollongong NSW 2522
AUSTRALIA

  Interactive campus map

  Printable campus map  

UOW Library  |  Subject readings  |  A-Z journals  |  A-Z databases  |  Copyright  |  Research Online

Borrowing information | Document Delivery | Connect to wireless | Print, copy & scan

Ask us  |  Tell us