Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

Borrowing: Borrowing from UOW libraries

Borrowing conditions

Our borrowing conditions table provides a comprehensive breakdown of our membership types, how much you can borrow and more.

Wollongong Library & CRC collections

Items from our collection can be borrowed using our self loan machines located on the ground floor and first floor of the Wollongong Library and at the Curriculum Resources Centre.


Short Loans collection

Our Short Loans collection contains high demand items and equipment for a short loan period (2 hours).

Overnight loans are available for some items. These items can only be borrowed during the final two hours of opening.

Look for the S-shaped shelves in front of the service desk for physical items.

Subject Readings, including Short Loans items, can be found online via our catalogue.

Fines apply for late return of Short Loans items.


Equipment

  • calculators
  • room kits for group study rooms
  • headphones
  • mice

Regional library collections

Check the UOW libraries guide for information on borrowing at your UOW library.

Holds allow you to place a request on items already on loan.

To place a hold on an item, click the Hold button above the item record and follow the login prompts.

A recall notice will then be emailed to the borrower notifying them of a new due date.

You will be notified by email when the item is available for pickup at Short Loans and you must collect the item within 7 days.

Holds cannot be placed on items that are on loan when there are copies available for loan in the library.

Holds not available for Short Loans or Equipment.

Renew your items online.

General collection items can be renewed online up to 30 days after their due date. Unlimited renewals are available.

Some items, like Short Loans, equipment or recalled items, are unavailable for renewal.

You can also renew items in person or by phone (02 4221 3545).

BONUS+ items and session loans can only be renewed once.

Wollongong Library

Office hours: Use the returns chute in the entry foyer

After hours: Return items to the after hours bin at the rear of the Library (out side the arcade, near IMB).

Short Loans: Return items via the chute at the service desk. Overnight loans must be returned by 9am Mon-Fri or 10am Sat-Sun.

Post: Items can be mailed to:

Client Services
University of Wollongong Library
Locked Bag No 8813
WOLLONGONG NSW 2500


CRC

Return items during opening hours.

Always return items to the library where you borrowed them.

You will attract fines under the following conditions:

  • Failure to return a Short Loans item by the due date/time.
  • Failure to return an item requested by another client (hold) or otherwise recalled by the Library by the recall date.
  • Failure to return an Inter-Library Loan item by the due date.
Fine charges
2 hour Short Loans
  • $5 for the first hour overdue (or part thereof)
  • $1 for every additional hour (or part thereof) *
2 day Short Loans
  • $5 for the first day overdue (or part thereof)
  • $1 for every additional day (or part thereof) *
Recalled items
  • $3 per day overdue *
Items borrowed from other libraries
  • $ 1 per day overdue*
Lost or damaged items Replacement cost plus $10 administration processing fee

* To a maximum of $30 per item

Lost/damaged replacement costs

When an item has been lost or damaged beyond repair or further use, you will be required to cover the replacement cost plus a $10 administration processing fee.

Loss of borrowing privileges

You will not be able to borrow if you have items flagged as lost on your record or outstanding fines of more than $60 (students, staff) or $10 (alumni, guests).

To check for any fines you owe, view your borrowing record.

Payment type Payment method
EFTPOS/credit card Wollongong Library Loans Desk (EFTPOS/Mastercard/Visa), or call us on 02 4221 3545
Cash/EFTPOS/credit card Wollongong Campus Post Office (inside UniShop)
Cheque/money order

Must be in Australian dollars, made payable to UOW Pulse. Can be posted. 

Postal payments must include name, student/staff number and invoice details.

Post to:

UOW Pulse - Library fines
PO Box U500
WOLLONGONG NSW 2500

Loading ...

Notifications

Students & Staff Notices will be sent to your UOW email address.
Alumni & Guests Notices will be sent to your nominated email address.

Top 5 Frequently Asked Questions

UOW Library  |  Subject readings  |  A-Z journals  |  A-Z databases  |  Copyright  |  Research Online

Borrowing information | Document Delivery | Print, copy & scan

Ask Us  |  Tell Us