Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

Services: Opening hours, contact details & more

Services available for our students, staff, alumni and guests

UOW Wollongong

Opening hours

Spring Session (16 Jul - 18 Nov 2018)

Mon - Fri: 8am - 10pm
Sat: 10am - 8pm
Sun: 10am - 8pm

Extended weekend hours from 20 October to 11 November
Sat-Sun: 10am - 10pm

24/7 Zone (Building 17, Level 1 and 2 ) 23 July - 10pm, 15 November 2018

Autumn Session (19 Feb - 24 Jun 2018)

Mon - Fri: 8am - 10pm
Sat: 10am - 8pm
Sun: 10am - 8pm

Extended opening hours between 26 May - 17 June
Sat-Sun: 10am - 10pm 

24/7 Zone (Building 17, Level 1 and 2 ) reopens 23 July

Mid-Year Recess (25 Jun - 15 Jul 2018)

Mon - Fri: 8am - 10pm
Sat: 10am - 8pm
Sun: 10am - 8pm

Recess (19 Nov - 2 Dec 2018)

Mon - Fri: 8:30am - 6pm
Sat: 10am - 5pm
Sun: 10am - 5pm

Summer Session 2018/2019 (03 Dec 2018 – 17 Feb 2019)

Mon - Fri: 8:30am - 6pm
Sat: 10am - 5pm
Sun: 10am - 5pm

Public holiday hours

Easter

Closed: Fri 30 March - Sun 1 April

Open: Mon 2 April 10am - 8pm

ANZAC Day Open: Wed 25 April 10am - 8pm
Queen's Birthday Open: Mon 11 June 10am - 10pm
Labour Day Open: Mon 1 October 10am - 8pm
Christmas Closed: Tue 25 - Mon 31 December
New Year's Day Open: Tue 1 January 10am - 5pm
Australia Day Open: Fri 26 January 10am - 5pm
Loading ...

Contact

General enquiries
  +61 2 4221 3545
  uow-library@uow.edu.au

Service desk
  +61 2 4221 3548
  uow-library@uow.edu.au

Short Loans / Subject readings
  +61 2 4221 3331
  subject-readings@uow.edu.au


  Our staff directory

  Liaison librarians

  Innovation Campus

Spaces

Library spaces

You can find spaces for reading, quiet study and group work throughout Wollongong Campus Library's three floors. See our floor plan to discover what's available and where.

Technology

A range of tech-tools are available throughout the Library's spaces, including:

  • 380+ desktop computers
  • Collaboration Walls with embedded Solstice technology for sharing files, screens and more. See Service Desk staff if you need assistance.
  • laptops for loan via the IT service desk (Level 1, Building 17)
  • powered study desks
  • whiteboards
  • device charging stations on the Ground Floor and South Wing (Level 2, Building 17)

 Amenities

  • toilets are available on each floor
  • accessible facilities are available on the Ground Floor and Level 2
  • water fountains are on Levels 1 & 2 and in South Wing (Level 2, Building 17)

Help us to help you

Spaces in the Library are here for everyone to enjoy and you can help keep them this way by:

  •     being respectful by keeping noise down
  •     complying with the IT Acceptable Use policy when you're online
  •     eating hot food outside
  •     disposing of rubbish thoughtfully and recycling when you can
  •     reporting any spills to our Service Desk staff as soon as possible

24/7 Zone

The 24/7 Zone is in Building 17 on Level 1 & 2 (South Wing). The Zone is available as a 24 hours space during Autumn and Spring 2018.

Quiet study spaces

Spaces for quiet study can be found in these areas:

  • Law Library, Ground Floor
  • All of Level 1
  • Outside Lab 1 & Lab 2 on Level 2
  • South Wing, Building 17, Level 2

To be fair to your peers, make sure your mobile is on vibrate or silent and keep any noise to a minimum while in these areas.

Group study spaces

Book a room

Our bookable study rooms are for groups of two or more students.

You can:

  • book a room for up to two hours a day
  • book a room two weeks in advance
  • borrow a room kit (including whiteboard markers and computer cables) from the Loans Desk on the Ground Floor
Be aware, if you don’t show up within 15 minutes of the booking time, your booking can be cancelled.


Find group study rooms:

  • On Ground Floor, Level 2 and South Wing
  • At Shoalhaven Campus Library

Room facilities include:

  • Whiteboards in Ground Floor rooms
  • Projectors in GS1 and GS2
  • Whiteboards and plasma screens in rooms on Level 2

Informal learning spaces

We also have informal group study spaces on all floors on Wollongong Campus Library, with large group work tables and booth seats.

You don’t have to book these spaces but they do fill up fast!

Computer labs

Lab 1 & Lab 2 are located on Level 2, Building 16.

These labs are available for general use, when not booked for classes (check the signage outside the door of each room for bookings).

Academic space

Located on Level 1, the Academic space is a quiet, comfortable and functional place for academics to use.

The room contains four desktop computers, soft furnishings and kitchen amenities.

See our Service Desk staff on the Ground Floor for the access code.

Access room

The Access room is located on the Ground Floor, next to our Postgraduate Space, and contains assistive software and hardware for students registered with Disability Services.

Postgraduate rooms

Postgraduate rooms are available on the Ground Floor and South Wing.

They provide quiet, technology enabled spaces for our HDR students, including postgraduates, Honours, Dean's Scholars and Graduate Diploma students.

See our staff at the Service Desk for access.

Panizzi Gallery

The Panizzi Gallery is our premium location for exhibitions and special events.

It is located on the Ground Floor and includes a state-of-the-art audio and video system, controllable lighting and track-mounted hanging.

MakerSpace

The MakerSpace is a place to safely use tools and equipment to explore your creativity and test your technical skills. It's open to all students and staff to walk through and engage with.

  • Learn to use new tech and tools
  • Put your knowledge and skills to practice
  • Meet like-minded makers

For more information, visit our MakerSpace page.

Guidelines for filming in UOW libraries

These guidelines apply to all UOW Library facilities, including the Main Library (Building 16), South Wing (Building 17), Curriculum Resource Centre (Building 22) and Shoalhaven Campus Library.

Public use

We are proud of our buildings and facilities and understand you may want to take photos and film inside and outside our libraries. You can take informal photographs and film without requiring formal authorisation so long as you avoid:

  • interfering with the study, research, privacy or safety of our clients.
  • flash photography where possible, as it is disrupting. If in doubt, check with our service desk staff first.
  • photographing and filming our staff or clients without their permission.
  • blocking access to exits, stairways, corridors, doorways or other facilities.
  • using lights, tripods or moving furniture without first checking with our service desk staff.

We reserve the right to withdraw permission to use personal photographic equipment at any time or to restrict permission during peak study periods.

Commercial use

All commercial photography and filming for publication or broadcast must be first authorised by the Communications and Events Cooordinator well in advance of the requested date.

Permission will take into consideration time of year, time of day, and anticipated disruption to clients, staff and facilities. You will be required to obtain consent forms from each person photographed or filmed. Failure to do so could result in legal action by the persons involved.

Research use

Photography and filming of our materials and resources is permitted with limitations.

Contact Archives staff if you wish to photograph or make digital copies of:

  • original records
  • items in the rare book collection
  • items in other archival collections

Depending on the item, flash photography may not be permitted.

Photography may also be permitted for personal research purposes. If you wish to display, publish or make further reproductions of the material, copyright permission may be required.

You will be responsible for obtaining any relevant permission from the copyright owner before material can be photographed. We are unable to provide any specific reproduction services.

Contact

  Communications and Events Coordinator
  +61 2 4221 3284

  UOW Archives
  +61 2 4221 3545

Loading ...

Find us

University of Wollongong Library
Buildings 16-17
Northfields Avenue
Wollongong NSW 2522
AUSTRALIA

  Interactive campus map

  Printable campus map  

UOW Library  |  Subject readings  |  A-Z journals  |  A-Z databases  |  Copyright  |  Research Online

Borrowing information | Document Delivery | Print, copy & scan

Ask Us  |  Tell Us