EndNote is software that allows you to store, organise and manage your references. These references can be linked to your word documents to instantly create in-text citations and bibliographies in the referencing style that you require.
EndNote software can be downloaded from the Library’s EndNote guide: accessible from the Library homepage, under Help then Guides. Please read the download instructions carefully.
First you need to create an Endnote Library, this can hold thousands of references, it is important not to create multiple libraries as this can cause formatting issues later.
To create an Endnote Library go to File > New, The default name is My Endnote Library you can change this if you wish. Click Save Endnote uses multiple windows. Our references will appear in here. There are many ways to add references, we are going to add references manually, through direct export from a database and from Google Scholar.
To add a reference Click on References > New. This is the reference window. The default reference type is Journal Article. In most cases you can directly export into Endnote, however if you wanted to add a website as reference you will need to add it manually.
Change the Reference type to Web Page and fill in the required fields. Please note if you are entering a corporate author you will need a comma at the end, so that Endnote doesn’t think it is a person’s name and it formats correctly in your bibliography. e.g. Australian Tax Office,
Author name should be listed one per line, surname, comma initial. Be careful of punctuation as an error here will be an error in your bibliography, close the window to save.
From your search results, select the references you want to add to Endnote by clicking on the folder next to each reference > Go to folder view > Select all click on Export
Other databases will work in a similar way, look for an export link or button, this may be under save in some database. Make sure to select Endnote (uses RIS format) then save. You now have the reference in your Endnote library.
Do a search in Google scholar. Click on Cite select Endnote. You can see the reference has been imported. If you get a file downloading, click on that file to import.
Endnote shows you the last reference imported, to see all references in your library click on All references.
The default referencing style when you first install Endnote is Annotated, this can easily be change from the drop down box to another style. Endnote comes with many built in styles, however if you need to use UOW Harvard, this is a separate file you will need to download from our Endnote guide.
Groups are folders used to organise your references. Your Endnote library could have hundreds of references, groups helps you organise them. Right click my groups, select create Group, give your group a name, highlight references and drag them in your relevant group folder. These are a copy of your reference, deleting a reference from a group does not delete it from your library. You can delete or rename groups by right clicking on it and selecting the relevant option.
To delete a reference, select ‘All references’, highlight the reference or references you want to delete and press delete on your keyboard. It will now be in the trash. Empty the trash to completely remove them.
Endnote uses two files to hold your references, your Endnote library file and the associated data folder. These need to be together at all times. To make sure of this do not move your endnote library into a different folder and use compressed library for saving. To save your library select file > compressed library, this will keep these two files together, save onto your computer a USB or in the cloud. Do not open this file from the cloud as it may corrupt your library, simply drag it back onto the computer you want to work on and then open the file and continue working. Giving this file a date is good practice. For more in depth instructions please see the Endnote workbook available form out Endnote Libguide.
In part 2 we will look at Working with the Endnote toolbar in Word.
When you download Endnote, an Endnote tool bar will be added to your Microsoft word program. You can use the features of this tool to insert references and format your bibliography.
Place the cursor where you want to insert a citation. Select the reference from your Endnote library. In your word document, select the small drop down arrow from the insert citation menu and then click on “insert selected references”.
To select multiple references, select them in your Endnote library, hold ctrl+click on windows computers and command and click on mac. Back in your word document, select insert select citations.
You can see the in-text reference being inserting correctly and the corresponding references are inserted in your bibliography, formatted to the referencing style you have chosen. This can be changed to another style from the ‘Referencing styles’ drop down box here.
As Endnote uses hidden field codes you will be unable to edit in word. If you need to add a page number to an in text reference. Select the in-text reference, click edit and manage citations, enter the page number and click ok.
To delete a reference, highlight the in text citation, click on edit and manage citations, then from this box drop down menu select “remove citation”.
If you see an error, you will need to make the edit to the Endnote record, for example if I knew this was the wrong year, I would go to endnote, open the record and make the change and save. Then go back to your word document and click up, update citations and bibliography to apply the changes. Remember the information in your word document is being drawn from your endnote library.
If you need further assistance please see the Endnote Workbook below.
To use the 'Find Full Text' option you will need to add the UOW Open URL Path and authentication links.
In EndNote go to 1. Edit > Preferences (Windows) OR EndNote X9 > Preferences (MAC)
2. Select 'Find Full Text'
3. Enter the URL's as below
Open URL Path:
Authenticate with URL:
Select: Apply > OK