Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

Essentials: Beyond week one

symbols of books on a white background

Bookmark these links!

You'll be using these links a lot during your studies – bookmark them now to save time later!

Services for all Students

Borrowing

Use SEARCH and the Catalogue to find and access online and offline items in our collections and don't forget to check out our new books! A selection of newly purchased books are also displayed in the Library's foyer.

Check your borrowing record to see your loans, place a hold or see outstanding fines.

If we don't have it available, you can try borrowing it from another library or even suggest an item for purchase.

Undergraduate Student Borrowing Conditions
Maximum Number of Loans Standard Loan Period Short Loan Items Equipment Loans Maximum Number of Holds
Unlimited 170 days
Unlimited renewals
2 items
2 hours *
No renewals
4 hours
No renewals
Unlimited

* Short loan periods may differ at regional or metropolitan locations 

Additionally, undergraduate students can also borrow 5 BONUS+ items for 21 days, including one renewal and 5 holds.

Students helping students

Peer Academic Coaches and Library Rovers (Wollongong only) can help you with:

  • study skills advice
  • assignments
  • English language
  • technology

Available at Wollongong, Sydney, South Western Sydney, Southern Sydney and Shoalhaven campuses.

For more information see the Learning Co-Op page.

Print, copy and scan

  • Printers are available on all three floors of the Library but jobs can be picked from selected sites across campus.
  • Printing/copying is available in black & white or colour using A4 or A3 paper. Default is set to print double-sided.
  • Scanning is also available and jobs can be sent to your UOW email address or to an inserted USB drive.

See the Student Prepaid Printing & Copying page for further information.

Leisure Reading Collection

New leisure reading titles, donated by the UniShop, are available on the Ground Floor. More literature titles, movies, and classical and jazz music can be found in our catalogue. The Leisure Reading Collection can be found the south-western corner of the Ground Floor.

Art in the Library

Tour our extensive and diverse art collection, encompassing all three floors of the library.

Panizzi Café

Grab a coffee, something sweet or a spot of lunch at the Panizzi Café, just outside the main entrance.

StartSmart and CareerSmart

StartSmart introduces you to the fundamental study skills you need to start your journey at UOW.

Learn how to find great information for your assignments, understand how you can avoid plagiarism and develop better study habits to keep you on track.

StartSmart, together with the complementary CareerSmart program, is compulsory for all commencing students and best completed during the first three weeks of session.

Subject readings

Use Subject Readings to access online resources made available for your subjects, such as scanned articles and past exam papers

Technology

Our technology can help you to study smarter, not harder!

  • Networked computers are available across all three floors and in South Wing. Access them using your student account details.
  • Laptops can be borrowed from the IT Service Desk in Building 17 and from the Curriculum Resources Centre in Building 22.
  • Some of our bookable study rooms include projectors or LCD screens.
  • Alternatively, you can bring your own device and connect it to our wireless network. To keep your devices up and running, most desks are powered and device charging stations are available on the Ground Floor and South Wing (24/7 Zone).
  • A microform reader is available in the Print/Copy Room on the Ground Floor.

Wireless access

To connect to wireless in the Library, choose UOW from the list of available access points, select Connect and enter your UOW account details.

If you have difficulty getting online, visit the IT help desk in building 17 or phone 4221 2000 for assistance.

If you are studying overseas or on-shore via distance education you have access to many of the same services as our local students, but these services will be particularly useful for your studies:

Loading ...

Essential guides

There are lots of guides to help with your studies, but we think these ones are essential.

Spaces at Wollongong Campus Library

Spaces

You can find spaces for reading, quiet study and group work throughout Wollongong Campus Library's three floors. See our floor plan to discover what's available and where.

Technology

A range of tech-tools are available throughout the Library's spaces, including:

  • 400+ desktop computers
  • Collaboration Walls with embedded Solstice technology for sharing files, screens and more
  • laptops for loan via the IT service desk (Level 1, Building 17)
  • powered study desks
  • whiteboards
  • device charging stations on the Ground Floor and South Wing (Level 2, Building 17)
Amenities
  • toilets are available on each floor
  • accessible facilities are available on the Ground Floor and Level 2
  • water fountains are on Levels 1 & 2 and in South Wing (Level 2, Building 17)
Help us to help you

Spaces in the Library are here for everyone to enjoy and you can help keep them this way by:

  •     being respectful by keeping noise down
  •     complying with the IT Acceptable Use policy when you're online
  •     eating hot food outside
  •     disposing of rubbish thoughtfully and recycling when you can
  •     reporting any spills to our Service Desk staff as soon as possible

The 24/7 Zone is in Building 17 on Level 1 & 2 (South Wing). The Zone is available as a 24 hours space during Autumn and Spring 2018.

Spaces for quiet study can be found in these areas:

  • Law Library, Ground Floor
  • all of Level 1
  • outside computer Labs 1 and 2 on Level 2
  • South Wing, Building 17, Level 2

To be fair to your peers, make sure your mobile is on vibrate or silent and keep any noise to a minimum while in these areas.

Spaces for group work can be found in these areas:

  • All floors – areas with large group work tables and informal group work spaces
  • Ground floor, Level 2 and South Wing – group study rooms
  • Shoalhaven Campus Library – group study rooms

Facilities available:

  • Ground floor rooms – whiteboards and GS1 and GS2 have projectors
  • Level 2 rooms – whiteboards and plasma screens

Rooms kits including whiteboard markers and computer display cables can be borrowed from the loans desk on the ground floor.

If you need a space to meet up and work as a group, book a room.

Computer Labs 1 and 2 are located on Level 2, Building 16.

These labs are available for general use, when not booked for classes (check the signage outside the door of each room for bookings).

Located on Level 1, the Academic Space is a quiet, comfortable and functional place for our academics to visit.

The room contains four desktop computers, soft furnishings and kitchen amenities.

See our Service Desk staff on the Ground Floor for an access code.

The Access Room is located on the Ground Floor, next to our Postgraduate Space, and contains assistive software and hardware for students registered with Disability Services.

Postgraduate rooms are available on the ground floor and on Level 2, Building 17.

They provide quiet, technology enabled spaces for our postgraduates, Honours, Dean's Scholars and Graduate Diploma students. 

See our Service Desk staff on the Ground Floor for an access code.

To be fair to your peers, make sure your mobile is on vibrate or silent and keep any noise to a minimum while in these areas.

Located on the Ground Floor, the Panizzi Gallery is our premium, bookable location for that special event.

With its state-of-the-art multimedia technologies, controllable lighting and track-mounted art hanging system, the Panizzi Gallery is sure to make an impression for your next big exhibition or event.

Make a booking request.

The MakerSpace is a place to safely use tools and equipment to explore your creativity and test your technical skills. It's open to all students and staff to walk through and engage with.

  • Learn to use new tech and tools
  • Put your knowledge and skills to practice
  • Meet like-minded makers

For more information, visit our MakerSpace page.

These guidelines apply to all UOW Library facilities, including the Main Library (Building 16), South Wing (Building 17), Curriculum Resource Centre (Building 22) and Shoalhaven Campus Library.

Public use

We are proud of our buildings and facilities and understand you may want to take photos and film inside and outside our libraries. You can take informal photographs and film without requiring formal authorisation so long as you avoid:

  • interfering with the study, research, privacy or safety of our clients.
  • flash photography where possible, as it is disrupting. If in doubt, check with our service desk staff first.
  • photographing and filming our staff or clients without their permission.
  • blocking access to exits, stairways, corridors, doorways or other facilities.
  • using lights, tripods or moving furniture without first checking with our service desk staff.

We reserve the right to withdraw permission to use personal photographic equipment at any time or to restrict permission during peak study periods.

Commercial use

All commercial photography and filming for publication or broadcast must be first authorised by the Communications and Events Cooordinator well in advance of the requested date.

Permission will take into consideration time of year, time of day, and anticipated disruption to clients, staff and facilities. You will be required to obtain consent forms from each person photographed or filmed. Failure to do so could result in legal action by the persons involved.

Research use

Photography and filming of our materials and resources is permitted with limitations.

Contact Archives staff if you wish to photograph or make digital copies of:

  • original records
  • items in the rare book collection
  • items in other archival collections

Depending on the item, flash photography may not be permitted.

Photography may also be permitted for personal research purposes. If you wish to display, publish or make further reproductions of the material, copyright permission may be required.

You will be responsible for obtaining any relevant permission from the copyright owner before material can be photographed. We are unable to provide any specific reproduction services.

Contact

  Communications and Events Coordinator
  +61 2 4221 3284

  UOW Archives
  +61 2 4221 3545

Loading ...

UOW Library  |  Subject readings  |  A-Z journals  |  A-Z databases  |  Copyright  |  Research Online

Borrowing information | Document Delivery | Print, copy & scan

Ask us  |  Tell us