Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

Finding Resources: Books & Ebooks

BOOKS

How can I find books on my topic?

You can search for books in two ways:

  1. Use SEARCH to do a broad search using topic keywords to find out what we have on your topic.
    Your results will be ranked according to relevance and can be refined by source type (i.e. books), or limiting by date, location etc.
  2. Use our Catalogue to search for a specific author, title or call number.
    Choose 'more options' for advanced keyword searching on your topic or to set limits.

The book I want is on loan

Place a hold on a book that is on loan or try BONUS+, a resource-sharing initiative that allows you to borrow selected books from other participating university libraries.

The number of holds you can place is dependent on your membership category.

Using Call Numbers & DDC subject categories

Using Call Numbers

The Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) system uses call numbers to help organise books by subject and help you find them on the shelves. When you need a book you've found in SEARCH or the catalogue:

  • Write down all parts of the call number. 
    Periods (.) and slashes (/) separate the different parts of the call number, e.g. 378.170281/22. 
  • Use the labels on the bookshelves to find 378.170281 (remember, 378.17 comes before it and 378.171 comes after).
  • Look at the sequence of books at 378.170281 to find 378.170281/22.
  • The number after the slash is the approximate location of the book on the shelf (as books are shelved in numerical order).
1.64 Data processing
004-006 Computer science
16 Subject bibliographies and indexes
20 Library and information sciences
30 General encyclopedias
70 News media, journalism, publishing
79.94 Australian journalism and news media
140 Specific philosophical schools of thought
150 Psychology
155 Differential and developmental psychology
158 Applied psychology
160 Logic
170 Ethics (moral philosophy)
180 Ancient, medieval and oriental philosophy
190 Modern Western philosophy
210 Natural theology
220 The Bible
280 Christian denominations and sects
290 Other and comparative religions
301 Sociology and anthropology
305 Social groups
310 General statistics
320 Political science
330 Economics
331.8 Labor (industrial) relations
332 Financial economics
340 Law (refer to Law Library - Moys Classification system)
360 Social services and welfare
362.29 Drug and alcohol abuse
370 Education
372 Primary education
373 Secondary education
374 Adult education
378 Tertiary education
380 Commerce (trade), communications, transport
390 Customs, etiquette, folklore
410 Linguistics
420 English language
440 French language
450 Italian language
460 Spanish language
490 Other languages
495 Languages of East and Southeast Asia
510 Mathematics
520 Astronomy and allied sciences
530 Physics
540 Chemistry and allied sciences
550 Earth sciences
570 Life sciences
574 Biology
580 Botanical sciences
590 Zoolgical sciences
610 Medical Sciences
610.73 Nursing
620 Engineering and allied operations
621.3 Electrical and Electronics Engineering
622 Mining and related operations
624 Civil Engineering
640 Home Economics
641.1 Applied Nutrition
657 Accounting
658 Management
658.8 Marketing
659 Advertising and public relations
709 History of art
720 Architecture
730 Sculpture and ceramics
740 Drawing and decorative arts
750 Painting
759 Artists
760 Graphic arts
770 Photography
780 Music
791 Film, radio and television performances
792 Theatre performances
796-799 Sport and recreation
810 American literature
820 English literature
828.97 Canadian literature
828.98 New Zealand literature
828.99 Australian literature
840 French literature
850 Italian literature
860 Spanish literature
890 Asian, African and Oceanic literatures
910 Geography and travel
914-919 Regional geography
920 Biography
930 Ancient history
940 European history
950 Asian history
973 United States history
994 Australian history
995-996 Pacific region history
Loading ...

Moys Classification Scheme

Our Law Library uses the Moys Classification Scheme, which is very different from Dewey.

Use these classes and sub-classes to help you to identify the section you are interested in. More detailed information can be found under Primary Law, Secondary Law, Law Reference and Law Journals.

K - Journals and reference books
KA - Jurisprudence
KB - General and comparative law
KC - International law
KD - Religious legal systems
KE - Ancient and medieval law
KF-KN - Common law

KF - British Isles
KG - Canada, US, West Indies
KH - Australia, New Zealand
KL - General
KM - Public law

KN - Private law
KP - Preferred jurisdiction
KR - Africa
KS - Latin America
KT - Asia and Pacific
KV - Europe
KW - European Community Law (alternative)
KZ - Non-legal subjects

Primary Law consists of documents that contain the law, namely; legislation, law reports , indexes, and are arranged by form.

KF - Great Britain
KF 20-34 English Legislation
KF 51-54 English reports of cases before 1865
KF 55 English Authorised law reports after 1865
KF 60 English General law reports
KF 65 English specialised law reports
KF 101-160 Scottish legislation and law reports
KF 201-260 Irish legislation and law reports
KG - North America
KG 1-280 Canada - legislation and law reports
KG 301-377 United States - legislation and law reports

KH - Australia and New Zealand (appears first in the sequence because you place your home jurisdiction first)
KH 6-22 Commonwealth - legislation
KH 41-47 Commonwealth - law reports
KH 62-69 New South Wales - legislation
KH 75-77 New South Wales - law reports
KH 82-89 Queensland - legislation
KH 95-97 Queensland - law reports
KH 102-109 South Australia - legislation
KH 115-117 South Australia - law reports
KH 122-129 Tasmania - legislation
KH 135-137 Tasmania - law reports
KH 142-149 Victoria - legislation
KH 155-157 Victoria - law reports
KH 162-169 Western Australia - legislation
KH 175-177 Western Australia - law reports
KH 182-189 Northern Territory - legislation
KH 195-197 Northern Territory - law reports
KH 201-209 ACT - legislation
KH 235-298 Australian Territories - legislation
KH 306-322 New Zealand - legislation
KH 341-347 New Zealand - law reports

Primary law shelving order
The home jurisdiction (KH for Australia and New Zealand) are located first in the primary law sequence, Great Britain (KF) follows next in the sequence, and North America (KG)

KF/23.C1/CUR Current law statutes annotated
KF/23.H1/HAL Halsburys statutes
KF/23.L1/LAW Law reports
KF/26/IND Index to the statutes 1235-1989
KF/51.S2/BAR Star Chamber proceedings
KF/53.E6/ENG English reports
KF/60.A4/ALL All England reprints 1558-1935
KF/60.A5/ALL All England reports 1936- present
KH/6/AUS Australia. Senate bills
KH/7/AUS Australia. House of Reps bills
KH/16/AUS Australia. Commonwealth Acts
KH/21/AUS Australia. Commonwealth statutory rules
KH/41/AUS Commonwealth law reports

Comments on and discusses primary materials and includes text books, monographs and treatises, and are arranged by subject

KA - Jurisprudence
KB - General and Comparative Law
KC - International Law (primary and secondary)
KD - Religious legal systems
KE - Ancient and Medieval law
KL - Legal systems - Common law
Covers non-specific legal topics such as the legal profession, legal education, research, administration of justice and legal history
KM - Public law - Common law
Governs the relationship of individuals and the state and includes constitutional and administrative law, taxation and criminal law.
KN - Private law - Common law
Regulates the relationship between individuals and includes contract, torts (negligence actions), property, family, health, industrial, equity, trusts, corporate and commercial law.
KR - Africa (primary and secondary)
KS - Latin America (primary and secondary)
KT - Asia and Pacific (primary and secondary)
KV - Europe (primary and secondary)
KZ - Non-legal topic (combination of KZ and a Dewey number to incorporate non-legal material)

Secondary law shelving order
KL/93.G1/CLA Advocacy techniques
KL/93.K1/CLA Trial tactics in Australia
KL/101.3/CLA A history of Gray's Inn barristers
KL/241.G1/SMI A history of US judges
KL/241.K2S/SOU South Australian judges - a controversy
KM/61/WAD British constitutional law
KM/70/CON Canadian constitutional law
KM/76/LUM Australian constitutional law
KM/76/MAK Constitutional law of Australia
KM/76/SAW Constitutional law
KM/335.K1/AUS Australian taxation law
KM/337.11.K1/AUS Income tax law in Australia
KN/112.A1/CAM British copyright law
KN/112.G1/TRA US copyright laws
KN/210.A1/CLA English trust law
KN/210.F1/CLA Canadian trusts
KN/210.K1/PAR Australian trust law
KN/213.K1/TRU Capacity in trust law
KN/284.K1/NAP Consumer law in Australia
KZ/302.3/MUL Handbook of persuasive tactics
KZ/305.4/FEM Feminist contentions
KZ/418.02026/PRO Justice as translation
KZ/791.4372/FEW A few good men
KZ/973.9/BUR Crossing the postmodern divide

Attorney-General's Reference Classification Scheme (this scheme was chosen because it has a far more detailed subject/number choice than Moys reference numbers).
REF/K2 - REF/K340
REF/K2 - Citators, Digests, Encyclopaedias
REF/K40 - Legal Bibliographies
REF/K190 - Legal Research
REF/K200 - Abbreviation Manuals
REF/K210 - Legal Dictionaries
REF/K220 - General Dictionaries
REF/K230 - Subject Dictionaries
REF/K250 - Legal Directories
REF/K330 - Encyclopaedias

Law reference shelving order
REF/K/2.A1/CUR Current law year book
REF/K/2.G1/WES Centennial digest
REF/K/2.K1/AUS Australian digest
REF/K/218.K1/JOU Australian encyclopaedia of forms and precedents
REF/K/252.K1/BOW The Macquarie easy guide to Australian law
REF/K/317.K1/AUS Quarterly legal and statistical bulletin
REF/K/332/INT International encyclopaedia of forms and precedents

K1/First three letters of the title, then file alphabetically by title. The theory of placing law journals unclassified lies in the need to find the journal citation without using the library catalogue. The titles of many law journals give no indication of the country of origin, and classification by subject and jurisdiction can be a hindrance. The ease of finding journals is more important to most lawyers than subject classification.

Law journal shelving order
K1/AUS Australian bar review
K1/AUS Australian business law review
K1/AUS Australian family lawyer
K1/AUS Australian journal of law and society
K1/JOU Journal of business law
K1/JOU Journal of contract law
K1/JOU Journal of law and economics
K1/LAW Law and history review
K1/LAW Law and philosophy
K1/LAW Law quarterly review
K1/LAW Law society journal

Loading ...

EBOOKS

Ebooks (electronic books) offer a number of benefits:

  • They don't weigh anything, so you can access them at any time.
  • You can access high demand titles during peak times.
  • You don't have to wait for them to be reshelved.

To discover ebooks in SEARCH – refine your results to full-text and select ebooks under 'Source Types'.

Our primary ebook collections are in ebook Central and EBSCOhost. Additional ebooks can be found in many of our online databases. The resource will be identified as an ebook by its type (PDF, epub, text, etc.) after searching. Other collections include:

ebook Central provide features on their toolbar to help you manage and organise your research, including:

  • 'Bookshelf' folder to save titles for future use.
  • In-text note taking to highlight important quotes.
  • Reference and citations in popular styles, ready to be exported to EndNote and other bibliographic tools.
  • Displays exactly how much of the ebook you can copy/print.

 

Check Availability on the ebook Detail page to see how many copies are available and whether it can be downloaded. Read online to take advantage of longer access, notes and bookmarking.

 

Click on '?' icon for help using the ebook Central database.

You will need to set up a My EBSCOhost folder account to save ebooks and create notes.

When you are logged in you can:

  • Add texts to your folder for future use.
  • Add notes to your texts.
  • Print or email (PDF) up to 60 pages of a text.
  • View references and citations and export to EndNote and other bibliographic tools.

Look under Concurrent user Level on the Detailed Record page to see how many copies are available for use.

Most ebooks from this collection are only available as a one day loan (when downloaded.) Read online to take advantage of longer access, notes and bookmarking.

Select 'Help' options in EBSCO from their menu for more information on database features.

Loading

A selection of newly added books and ebooks

The Fear Factor

"A riveting ride through your own brain." --Adam Grant How the brains of psychopaths and heroes show that humans are wired to be good At fourteen, Amber could boast of killing her guinea pig, threatening to burn down her home, and seducing men in exchange for gifts. She used the tools she had available to get what she wanted, like all children. But unlike other children, she didn't care about the damage she inflicted. A few miles away, Lenny Skutnik cared so much about others that he jumped into an ice-cold river to save a drowning woman. What is responsible for the extremes of generosity and cruelty humans are capable of? By putting psychopathic children and extreme altruists in an fMRI, acclaimed psychologist Abigail Marsh found that the answer lies in how our brain responds to others' fear. While the brain's amygdala makes most of us hardwired for good, its variations can explain heroic and psychopathic behavior. A path-breaking read, The Fear Factor is essential for anyone seeking to understand the heights and depths of human nature. "You won't be able to put it down." --Daniel Gilbert, New York Times bestselling author of Stumbling on Happiness "[It] reads like a thriller... One of the most mind-opening books I have read in years." --Matthieu Ricard, Author of Altruism

If the Kaiser Comes

On the night of 20 November 1914, everything pointed to the likelihood of invasion by a German army, whisked across the North Sea on a fleet of fast transports. The Royal Navy's Grand Fleet prepared to sail south from remote bases in Scotland; shallow-draught monitors were moored in the Wash; and 300,000 troops stood by to repel the enemy on the beaches. Fortunately, the night passed without incident. For thirty years prior to the First World War, writers, with a variety of motivations, had been forecasting such an invasion. Britain regarded the army as an imperial police force and, despite the experience gained in military exercises involving simulated invasions, the Royal Navy was still expected to fulfill its traditional role of intercepting and destroying enemy forces. However, as the technology of warfare developed, with the proliferation of ever more powerful warships, submarines, mines, and torpedoes, alongside the added promise of aerial assault, it became obvious that these long-established notions of the Navy's invincibility might no longer be realistic. The perceived threat of invasion, whether justified or not, persisted throughout the First World War, and this book describes the measures taken to protect Britain against enemy attack by land, sea, or air.

Crashback

An alarming message from an award-winning journalist with unprecedented access to the highest naval officers in America and China and their ships and weapons, this is a chilling look at the "warm war" over control of the South China Sea--one that is threatening to flare into full-scale conflict. Out in the Pacific Ocean, there is a war taking place. It is a "warm war," a shoving match between the United States, since WWII the uncontested ruler of the seas, and China, which now possesses the world's largest navy. The Chinese regard the Pacific, and especially the South China Sea, as their ocean, and they're ready to defend it. Each day the heat between the two countries increases as the Chinese try to claim the South China Sea for their own, and the United States insists on asserting freedom of navigation. Throughout Southern Asia, countries such as Vietnam, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, and South Korea respond with outrage and growing fear as China turns coral reefs into manmade islands capable of supporting airstrips and then attempts to enforce twelve-mile-radius, shoot-down zones. The immediate danger is that the five trillion dollars in international trade that passes through the area will grind to a standstill. The ultimate danger is that the US and China will be drawn into all-out war. Pulitzer Prize-nominated journalist Michael Fabey has had unprecedented access to the Navy's most exotic aircraft carriers, cruisers, destroyers, aircraft, and submarines, as well as those who command them. He was among the only journalists allowed to board a Chinese war vessel and observe its operations. In Crashback, Fabey describes how every year the US is "losing sea." He predicts the next great struggle between military superpowers will play out in the Pacific, and his book, more than any other, is an accurate preview of how that conflict might unfold.

The Biology of Ageing

One of the problems geriatricians are confronted with in everyday clinical practice is differentiating disease from the process of old age. The challenges of ageing require a better understanding of the essential biology of ageing in order to separate ageing from disease, and indeed ageing made worse by disease. Although the topic is large and diverse, this practical and easy-to-read reference book contains vital information on the biology of ageing. It provides a concise understanding of the changes that occur and focuses on the clinical implications of ageing. MCQs are featured throughout for revision and examination practice. The Biology of Ageing provides the reader with: . a learning guide on the biology of ageing through an overview of the changes that occur at both cellular and system levels . knowledge of how biological changes of ageing impact on physiology and the clinical relevance in medical practice . a practical consideration of these changes in disease presentations and how these changes may impact on disease management. This full-colour guide featuring slides, MRIs, figures and photographs is ideal for doctors training in geriatric medicine, practising geriatricians and those with an interest in management of older people.

Cryptoassets

The innovative investor's guide to an entirely new asset class--from two experts on the cutting edge With the rise of bitcoin and blockchain technology, investors can capitalize on the greatest investment opportunity since the Internet. Bitcoin was the first cryptoasset, but today there are over 800 and counting, including ether, ripple, litecoin, monero, and more. This clear, concise, and accessible guide from two industry insiders shows you how to navigate this brave new blockchain world--and how to invest in these emerging assets to secure your financial future. Cryptoassets gives you all the tools you need: * An actionable framework for investigating and valuing cryptoassets  * Portfolio management techniques to maximize returns while managing risk * Historical context and tips to navigate inevitable bubbles and manias * Practical guides to exchanges, wallets, capital market vehicles, and ICOs * Predictions on how blockchain technology may disrupt current portfolios In addition to offering smart investment strategies, this authoritative resource will help you understand how these assets were created, how they work, and how they are evolving amid the blockchain revolution. The authors define a clear and original cryptoasset taxonomy, composed of cryptocurrencies, cryptocommodities, and cryptotokens, with insights into how each subset is blending technology and markets. You'll find a variety of methods to invest in these assets, whether through global exchanges that trade 24/7 or initial cryptoasset offerings (ICOs). By sequentially building on the concepts of each prior chapter, the book will provide you with a full understanding of the cryptoasset economy and the opportunities that await the innovative investor . Cryptoassets represent the future of money and markets. This book is your guide to that future.   

UOW Library  |  Subject readings  |  A-Z journals  |  A-Z databases  |  Copyright  |  Research Online

Borrowing information | Document Delivery | Print, copy & scan

Ask us  |  Tell us