Skip to main content
University of Wollongong Australia

Finding Resources: Books & Ebooks

BOOKS

How can I find books on my topic?

You can search for books in two ways:

  1. Use SEARCH to do a broad search using topic keywords to find out what we have on your topic.
    Your results will be ranked according to relevance and can be refined by source type (i.e. books), or limiting by date, location etc.
  2. Use our Catalogue to search for a specific author, title or call number.
    Choose 'more options' for advanced keyword searching on your topic or to set limits.

Using Call Numbers

The Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) system uses call numbers to help organise books by subject and help you find them on the shelves. When you need a book you've found in SEARCH or the catalogue:

  • Write down all parts of the call number. 
    Periods (.) and slashes (/) separate the different parts of the call number, e.g. 378.170281/22. 
  • Use the labels on the bookshelves to find 378.170281 (remember, 378.17 comes before it and 378.171 comes after).
  • Look at the sequence of books at 378.170281 to find 378.170281/22.
  • The number after the slash is the approximate location of the book on the shelf (as books are shelved in numerical order).

New Books Feed

Loading ...

EBOOKS

To discover ebooks in SEARCH – refine your results to full-text and select ebooks under 'Source Types'.

Our primary ebook collections are in ebook Central and EBSCOhost. Additional ebooks can be found in many of our online databases. The resource will be identified as an ebook by its type (PDF, epub, text, etc.) after searching. Other collections include:

ebook Central provide features on their toolbar to help you manage and organise your research, including:

  • 'Bookshelf' folder to save titles for future use.
  • In-text note taking to highlight important quotes.
  • Reference and citations in popular styles, ready to be exported to EndNote and other bibliographic tools.
  • Displays exactly how much of the ebook you can copy/print.

 

Check Availability on the ebook Detail page to see how many copies are available and whether it can be downloaded. Read online to take advantage of longer access, notes and bookmarking.

 

Click on '?' icon for help using the ebook Central database.

You will need to set up a My EBSCOhost folder account to save ebooks and create notes.

When you are logged in you can:

  • Add texts to your folder for future use.
  • Add notes to your texts.
  • Print or email (PDF) up to 60 pages of a text.
  • View references and citations and export to EndNote and other bibliographic tools.

Look under Concurrent user Level on the Detailed Record page to see how many copies are available for use.

Most ebooks from this collection are only available as a one day loan (when downloaded.) Read online to take advantage of longer access, notes and bookmarking.

Select 'Help' options in EBSCO from their menu for more information on database features.

Loading ...

A selection of new books and ebooks

Avatar, Assembled

Avatar, Assembled is a curated volume that unpacks videogame and virtual world avatars--not as a monolithic phenomenon (as they are usually framed) but as sociotechnical assemblages, pieced together from social (human-like) features like voice and gesture to technical (machine-like) features like graphics and glitches. Each chapter accounts for the empirical, theoretical, technical, and popular understandings of these avatar "components"--60 in total--altogether offering a nuanced explication of avatars-as-assemblages as they matter in contemporary society and in individual experience. The volume is a "crossover" piece in that, while it delves into complex ideas, it is written in a way that will be accessible and interesting to students, researchers, designers, and practitioners alike.

Counter-Revolution

Is Europe disintegrating? Can open society survive? How to overcome the economic crisis? Will Europeans feel secure again? Counter Revolution is a bold attempt to make sense of the extraordinary events taking place in Europe today. It examines the counter-revolution developing in Europe, exploring its roots and implications. The book takes the form of a series of heartfelt letters to the late European guru Ralf Dahrendorf. Several months after the fall of the Berlin Wall, Dahrendorf wrote a book fashioned on Edmund Burke's Reflections on the Revolution in France. Like Burke, he chose to put his analysis in the form ofa letter, reflecting on the implications of the turbulent period around 1989. Thirty years' later, and faced with an equally turbulent period, Jan Zielonka asks: what next?This is not a book on populism, however: it is a book about liberalism. Populism has become a favourite topic within liberal circles and few have exposed populist deceptions and dangers better than liberal writers. Yet, liberals have shown themselves better at finger-pointing than atself-reflection. This book addresses the imbalance; it is a self-critical book by a life-time liberal. Counter-Revolution suggests that Europe and its liberal project need to be reinvented and recreated. There is no simple way back. Europe failed to adjust to enormous geopolitical, economic, and technological changes that swept the continent over the past three decades. European models of democracy,capitalism, and integration are not in sync with new complex networks of cities, bankers, terrorists, or migrants. Liberal values that made Europe thrive for many decades have been betrayed. The escalation of emotions, myths, and ordinary lies left little space for reason, deliberation, andconciliation. This book examines these different aspects, proposing a way out of the labyrinth.

An American Marriage

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER! OPRAH'S BOOK CLUB 2018 SELECTION "Haunting . . . Beautifully written." --The New York Times Book Review   "Brilliant and heartbreaking . . . Unforgettable." --USA Today   "A tense and timely love story . . . Packed with brave questions about race and class." --People   "Compelling." --The Washington Post   "Epic . . . Transcendent . . . Triumphant." --Elle Newlyweds Celestial and Roy are the embodiment of both the American Dream and the New South. He is a young executive, and she is an artist on the brink of an exciting career. But as they settle into the routine of their life together, they are ripped apart by circumstances neither could have imagined. Roy is arrested and sentenced to twelve years for a crime Celestial knows he didn't commit. Though fiercely independent, Celestial finds herself bereft and unmoored, taking comfort in Andre, her childhood friend, and best man at their wedding. As Roy's time in prison passes, she is unable to hold on to the love that has been her center. After five years, Roy's conviction is suddenly overturned, and he returns to Atlanta ready to resume their life together.   This stirring love story is a profoundly insightful look into the hearts and minds of three people who are at once bound and separated by forces beyond their control. An American Marriage is a masterpiece of storytelling, an intimate look deep into the souls of people who must reckon with the past while moving forward--with hope and pain--into the future.

Are Black Men Doomed?

Life for too many African American men is a battle with extreme disadvantage, a fight for survival, and a struggle for dignity in a society which labels them a "problem." For more than 30 years, most of the effort put toward addressing the crisis of Black men has centered on what they must do to improve their condition. Without neglecting that perspective, Are Black men doomed? radically shifts the focus.  This urgent intervention explores how a damning portrait of Black men as incorrigibly pernicious has been built and persists, and how the voice of these men themselves has been ignored. It astutely argues that improving the prospects for Black men requires that society fully come to terms with the narrow and incomplete vision it has sustained about these men. It then shows us the means to hear, understand, and value them, offering a new vision rooted in reinterpretation and redemption.

UOW Library  |  Subject readings  |  A-Z journals  |  A-Z databases  |  Copyright  |  Research Online

Borrowing information | Document Delivery | Print, copy & scan

Ask Us  |  Tell Us