Skip to Main Content
University of Wollongong Australia

Support for Higher Degree Research Students

Discover key resources

Exploring research and resources is essential for understanding your research area and designing your research project.
 

Have I refreshed my library search skills and strategies?

Our tutorials teach you how to search popular databases such as Library SEARCH, Web of Science and Scopus. See tips on how to search effectively in our guide to finding information.

You may also like to review these tutorials:

Have I identified relevant databases and journals for my area of research?

See our Subject Guides for key research databases for your faculty. Use these databases to find peer-reviewed articles in your field and to identify gaps in the research. 

 

Have I explored specialist resources. e.g. theses, news, statistics, standards, archival material and Trove?

Our Guides can help you find:

UOW Archives contains physical and digital materials to support your research. (Physical access is currently unavailable)

Trove is a discovery tool produced by the National Library of Australia and provides access to a significant range of resources including books, pictures, maps, newspapers, music and people. 

Work through our interactive, self-paced tutorial Searching Trove and the Trove Searching Guide.

If you're looking for data to use in your research project, see our list of repositories for finding research data.

 

Have I understood the process of a literature review or a systematic literature review?

See our literature review guide, which provides examples and advice on searching for information for your literature review.

A systematic literature review is a particular type of literature review – it is an authoritative account of existing evidence using reliable, objective, thorough and reproducible research practices.

 

Have I learnt how to request material not held by UOW?

Search for the resource in Library SEARCH. Ensure you select 'Show results outside UOW Library'. Click the item's title. Under 'How to get it', select the relevant 'Get it' option to either borrow a physical copy or get a digital chapter via Document Delivery.

HDR students are also able to suggest an item for purchase.