Guides: Psychology: Psychology

Psychology

In these databases you'll find scholarly and peer-reviewed articles, grey literature, data and statistics, assessment and testing tools, book chapters and reviews relevant to your study of psychology.

Find resources for topics from biological, cognitive, social and developmental psychology to psychological disorders and forensic psychology.

Databases for Psychology

Start much of your research with the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) then search other databases when you need to find further scholarly information for your assignments.

Here are some more databases with coverage across many areas of psychology. Start with these to find more focused information, then try multidisciplinary databases for more generalised resources.

PsycINFO
Produced by the American Psychological Association, this is the largest index of scholarly articles in behavioural sciences and mental health. PsychINFO is international and indexes material from 1800 onward. Produced by the American Psychological Association. It includes material from the PsycARTICLES database.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
A medical database that looks a lot like the main Library SEARCH and includes thousands of psychological articles. You can perform very detailed or refined searches.
Psychiatry Online Premium Collection
This international database includes the American Psychiatric Association (APA) journals and reference works, including the DSM V Library.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
An abstracting and indexing database containing research on sports and sports medicine, including sports psychology and exercise physiology.
PsycCRITIQUES
Book reviews of current scholarly and professional books published in psychology. It also contains reviews from a psychological perspective of popular films and trade book. Published by the American Psychological Association (APA). International 1956-2017
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Comprehensive guide to contemporary testing instruments, with reviews of more than 3,000 contemporary testing instruments.
Access is enabled for 1 concurrent user. Please log off when you have finished using this database.
PsycBOOKS
Full-text PDFs of chapters from books published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and other publishers. It also contains over 1600 classic books of landmark importance to psychology dating back to the 1600s and exclusive access to chapters from APA, Oxford University Press and Encyclopedia of Psychology.